We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasty food”

Thai Friends Restaurant
Ranked #315 of 2,311 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tasty food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had a vegetarian yellow curry, which was excellent - really tasty, fresh and with interesting ingredients. Nice to sit outside and watch the world go by

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 444Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere, awesome staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We walked into this restaurant while on holiday. I thought the name was a little unusual, but the food was very friendly and so was the staff. The food was very fresh and very tasty. One of our entrees was misheard and came out wrong, and the staff member immediately replaced it and took it off the bill, so we ended up with an extra free entree, and they were all nice. The curry puffs were really delicious, nicely spiced and with some kumara in there. I had a red curry as a main which was fantastic as well. Nice place, pretty on the inside with big windows and an outdoor balcony area over the lane behind parnell road. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somewheresouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived for tea with a party of 9 not knowing anything about the place, the hostess was very friendly and quickly moved tables to accommodate us. We had one toddler with us and the hostess was happy to suggest what we could order for him. She made us feel very welcome and we left feeling we had had a lovely relaxing Sunday evening meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent and fresh food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We loved our lunch at Thai Friends restaurant. It was cooked to order with real, fresh vegetables that tasted so good (not the usual mass produced, pre-packaged kind). The service was great, too. We wished we had more time in Auckland to return for another meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharoninsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Thai food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived on a cold night without a booking, and were greeted with a smile, and the food was delicious. Plentiful servings.
Cosy ambience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goannakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Friends Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Thai Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing