We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”

Soul Bar and Bistro
Ranked #21 of 2,329 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've eaten at Soul before but it had been many years before last night. The food and service are still very good but I found the cocktails to be a little overpriced, even though they are very good as well. There was a note made at the time of the booking that it was a special occasion so they put us at a nice table and were very attentive but didn't hover.
I will eat here again and recommend it to others who are looking for a place with good food in Auckland viaduct without the heafty price tag.
The only downside is that because the smoking area is the patio outside of the bar, when the doors are open (as they usually are in good weather) the smoke blows inside and makes a rather unpleasant atmosphere for us non-smokers at the bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanKiwiMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    480
    143
    48
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,889 reviews
732 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Wine and Cigars”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Came here for a nice bottle of Grasshopper Rock Pinot Noir and a cigar after dinner. Staff great, atmosphere great but boy - talk about expensive...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waiting staff destroying your business!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to Soul with my family to have a lovely evening as we had just arrived in Auckland for a holiday. Seated at a lovely table outside & unfortunately that was the only nice memory. It was almost like the staff were doing us a favour to serve us! We had to ask for menu's, call them to order & not once was she polite or have a smile on her face. We decided to head elsewhere for our mains.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Interesting menu,good food and a cool place to sit and people watch/see the sun go down. But Soul is quite expensive and the service was incredibly slow when we were there - we waited around 50 minutes before eating and between courses with no explanation from our waiter.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to catch up with friends”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friends and I love catching up for coffee/wine here over summer. It's have a lovely view of the water and good vibe. Love the Caesar's Salad and few of the other items we've tried on various occasions are pretty good. The only dish I've ever had a problem is is the cauliflower fritters. It came out burnt the last time I order it and had to send it back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bridgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Bar and Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Soul Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing