We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome and felt at home”
Review of Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant - CLOSED

Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply awesome and felt at home”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is def a must visit and must return. It gives all the other Japanese posh places a run for their money. So so good. All the options were so fresh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing japanese food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is an excellent japanese restaurant, fresh sushi, well made tempura, great selection of sake. The ambiance is relaxed but elegant, and very calming. Good service too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW SOTO”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

You cant go wrong at Soto.
As novices with Japanese food we selected a fixed menu - $55pp - plus our wine @ $50. A fantastic investment it turned out to be.
Prompt and courteous service. Delectable flavours. And the waitress was nice to look at too.
So we had the total package for an enjoyable outing. I have started saving so we can go again soon.
Go. You will love it!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Inspired Japanese cooking”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very nice way to test the modern Japanese cooking by sharing plates. Good wine recommendations and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good food and service on one of their busiest evenings.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Dining on a busy night is always a good test of a restaurant - this Japanese restaurant is very popular & it was Valentines Day so we were lucky to secure a booking. It was a set menu, and the food was superb. We did wait quite along time for the drinks and the food, but the restaurant was packed and we arrived at a busy time. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing