We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satya South Indian Restaurant & Cafe

Satya South Indian Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #436 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not too standard in the New Zealand Indian fare of endless rich gravies. Satya gives real spice without having to burn your cheeks off, and it's interesting. Love the decor in a couple of the venues - plastic cloths and bright and colourful sari ceilings. Makes me feel quite at home and also a little nostalgic for the Hindi culture that was so much a part of my earlier life. If you only go for the Pani Puri you won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    43
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
550 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Tasty indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been here twice. Food was tasty, staff smiling.
If I will be again in Auckland I know where I will eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Different to your average Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I like the selection of food here - so many Indian restaurants in Auckland offer the same, limited selection of dishes, many of which do not seem very authentic. I have no idea if this is any more authentic but at least you can taste different flavours and combinations and it is not all dumbed down with cream.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SooBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Lunch deal makes it so cheap that it is addictive!
Very good food, simple and yet different.
Parathas are very tasty and slightly crispy!
I really enjoyed everything I tried there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Borders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fresh, spicey and the best value for money in town! We sometimes take a drive even though it is well out of our way.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AucklandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satya South Indian Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Satya South Indian Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing