We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous for weekend brunch”

Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #459 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Famous for weekend brunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The spread of the brunch is good but beware as the customers increase the refilling gets bad, waiting time is high on the weekends so book your table

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ravimaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Indian on Ponsonby”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with good rich flavours. The mixed platter is a great entree. Naans, samosas etc all tasted clean and fresh. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meat Thali”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I'm a HUGE fan of Indian cuisine and last night's visit to Saffron (Ponsonby Road) did not disappoint! Arrived around 8:45pm and the place was nearly empty and I actually considered it a good sigh as I was ravenous!

Anytime I can find a Meat Thali on the menu and jump at the chance to give it go. The spice level was high (just the way I like it) and service was great!

This place has been around along time and folks I know recommend it highly! B.Y.O.B which is great, as I brought a FAB Merlot and used an Entertainment guide coupon. All in all a great experience - I plan to to do a take away order next week!

Thanks again Saffron, a truly great Auckland eatery!

Cheers!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food...Good Service”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great South Indian food. Can be a crowded over the weekend when they have this South Indian Vegetarian Buffet, but the food is really good, wide variety and absolute value for money. Gorge on the authentic South Indian Idlis, Vadai, Bonda, Poori Bhaji etc, enjoy the Kesari and Halwa and round it off with a Filter Coffee... Bliss... The service is quite fast and caring. Highly recommended if you are looking for authentic South Indian Vegetarian fare.!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GanapathyIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good Indaina food place”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very very good Indian restaurant. The owner has amazing sense of service and food quality and when I asked for a slightly less sweet curry (some can tend to be) it was no problem. Having been to Calcutta many moons ago I can attest to there being nothing as good as this in that shambolic Indian city!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gourdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing