We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent prices, good service lacks wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruan Thai

Ruan Thai
Ranked #1,284 of 2,231 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Decent prices, good service lacks wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable prices, average decor, good service, food taste good. Might come back again if nothing else is open n the area.

Helpful?
Thank RexStarReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very yummy food, at good location by the beach with very friendly staff and nice interior decoration.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ivansurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
322 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Greatvwayto see Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Mission Bay is a ten minute taxi from the Citybgiving you some of the best views bothalongthe way and when you arrive. This is a great neighborhood Thai restaurant. Food all freshly prepared and good service. Spice is low designed for local tastes so don't hesitate to ask them to add a little more....fun evening and very reasonably priced with good wine list

Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had high expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have heard nothing but praise about this restaurant. And Thai is my favourite so I thought I would give this one a go for something different, as I dine at plenty of family Thai restaurants.

I found this restaurant extremely average. The service was average, the entree was average and full of gristle (satay chicken on skewers), and the main was extremely average too (Pad Thai). I am not hard to please and as I mentioned I have dined at many basic family Thai restaurants and their food is much better quality than this.

I like the museum decorations and whatnot but overall I don't rate this place very high. For the price you are paying it is definitely not value for money. Sorry guys.

Please note their is a bar using the same entrance so can get noisy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Ruan Thai is situated in Mission bay on the first level up, providing a rather nice view across the park and through the trees, the water. The service is very welcoming, accompanied with traditional thai dress. We've had some very quick turn around times for our food there, sometimes surprisingly quick. I've had one of my best dishes ever there. They are pricey, but for once in a while, it is worth it! I'd also say the best Thai restaurant in Auckland.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruan Thai also viewed

Mission Bay, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Mission Bay, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ruan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing