We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: outdoor dining, Take out available, Full menu all day and night.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Apart from a minor misunderstand over our reservation we had a great evening. We had reserved a table for a party of 7 to be told on arrival that we did not have a reservation as they only accepted reservations for 8 or more. However I would still recommend this as a destination for casual dining with competent Italian cooking, very friendly and efficient service without too large a bill at the end.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon99Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    132
    35
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived here wanting to eat early as we had missed lunch and the kitchen is open from 12 so we were able to get food no problem. Waiter had awesome knowledge of wine list and recommended perfect bottle. Food was quick and perfect. Loved sitting out in the front courtyard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuyWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We ate at Prego on the suggestion of our b&b owner, and we're we glad we did. The servers were attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The food was outstanding, with sauces and seasonings that were just right. I most highly recommend the fish of the day and the ciocolatto dessert. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I first visited Prego in 1996-- the food was amazing! Returning to Auckland in 2012, I decided to try it again-- was as delicious as I had remembered it! My boyfriend enjoyed it as much as I did-so much so, that we had our leaving Auckland meal here. This past February, we were again in Auckland, this time with friends of ours, and, with it being my birthday, I chose to celebrate at Pregos. The food was delicious, the wine tasty, and the wait staff was awesome!! Mark, who it turned out was originally from Vancouver, was a blast! He was efficient, energetic, and helpful~ as well as the waiter we dubbed the 'cutlery ninja'( didn't get his name) but as soon as cutlery was dropped on the floor, there he was with clean cutlery in hand! This was a great night, and a fantastic way to spend my birthday! Thank you Prego!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicoletta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super Service..and the food is great as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Coming back after a few years can be difficult but this is not the case here - the quality of the food is still the same high level!
But the best this time: The Service. My wife could not really make her mind up which Pinot Gris to order - after a short discussion with the waitress the waitress disappeared and arrived with 3 different choices to taste. For dessert my wife had a Creme Brulee with Rhubarb and when the waitress asked if everything was ok my wife commented that the Rhubarb could have been cooked a bit longer but was still nice. Again the waitress leaves and comes back after a while - they have checked with the Chef and they thought as well that it wasa bit undercooked. So the waitress apologized - even if it was not a complaint at all and of course the dessert was taken off the bill. This is customer service at it's finest!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing