We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Ever”
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 2,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: outdoor dining, Take out available, Full menu all day and night.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We always have lunch at Prego when in Auckland.
I love the buzz of the place & staff are always helpful.
I always have their pizza, its the best. Cooked in their stone oven to order, I couldn't find one to beat it in all of Italy. The cocktails are a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    137
    37
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, condesending waiter, an ok experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I took a client out to lunch here, as I had heard it was a brilliant place. The decor is simple but nothing extraordinary. I was prepared to be wow-ed based on what I had heard. My main of Gnocci came in a very small portion. I was glad I had ordered a side salad, but this also failed to impress.
My dessert (sticky pate pudding) was fantastic however. As was my wine. They have an extensive wine list.
But the waiter we had was very haughty. He barely broke out a smile the whole time he waited on us and looked down his nose at us.
This looks more like a place one would go to to see society's "it" crowd, rather than for the experience. I didn't really enjoy my visit there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I ate at Prego and the food was amazing. I had one of the salads to start with, a butternut squash and pumpkin salad with feta and honey. The combination was amazing. The staff were very attentive and helpful, and I had the gnocchi to follow (a dish I normally do not enjoy) this was perfect. To go with the meal we had a very nice New Zealand red wine. The tiramasu dessert was a lovely end to the meal, and they also make delicious cocktails. The staff were very patient with us being the last people in the restaurant, and did not hurry us out at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eat, drink and be seen”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Was taken to Prego by an Auckland native (he is in media of course and by the looks of it most of the clientele is). While everyone was busy checking each other out, I was busy checking my food (and the wine list!) both of them were good and service was very friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RocknRoll_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Ponsonby Road Icon, Can Be Very Noisy on a Sunday Night”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Four of us came here for dinner on a Sunday night at about 6pm, the place was busy with lots of family groups. It had a nice REAL fire going inside opposite the bar area which is very tight. Fortunately we got a table out the front in the courtyard. I would not have enjoyed eating inside as it was too noisy with small children running around; but this maybe different later at night?. Any way this place has been around for as long as Mosses has been in short pants. Service and food were both okay. 1 bottle of wine ($42), 1 beer ($12), 1 Mojito ($16) and four glasses of wine ($12.50 each) + the meal came to all up $352 (so $88 pp). I'm told the food is consistently good here by the locals. Howver, definetly not a romantic place to go to on Sunday nights!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing