We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View, Average Meal”
Review of Orbit

Orbit
Ranked #29 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely View, Average Meal”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am rating this restaurant very good because of the view, which is spectacular. The restaurant is very expensive and our food was average. My mother's salmon was horribly undercooked. The service was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 48andHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    632
    172
    62
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must for any visit to Auckland”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the 3rd time for me dining at Orbit and it never fails to disappoint.
Six of us went for dinner on my birthday and we booked the table in time to watch the sunset from the observation deck before we went to dinner. What a beautiful and breathtaking way to start.
Our waiter was great and helpful with the wines and food.
We all had 3 courses, consisting of venison carpaccio, fresh fish tartare, pork belly and tuna loin (the venison being particularly delicious).
Mains consisted of confit duck leg, corn fed chicken, beef fillet and lamb loin (all great).
We decided to go the whole hog and have desserts with the creme brûlée, ice cream and tarte tatin being the final delights to the meal.
The final bill was incredibly reasonable saying we'd had 3 courses each, a few bottles of wine and the views.
Can't wait to go again on our next trip to Auckland

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaRsh_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great place to take visitors”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took my parents here when they came over from the UK for a visit. It's a fabulous place to have lunch, whilst admiring the views. The 3-course lunch menu with wine was really good value. Food was pretty good, nothing too special, but well cooked. The house wine was fine. But really, you come here for the views, and for that, it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining and amazing views”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to Orbit and had the 3 course meal which entitled us access to the observation levels prior to dinner. It was great value and the 3 course meal at the restaurant was simply delicious.

We found that the staff were attentive without being pretentious which was a nice change from other fine dining venues. I would definitely recommend this restaurant as a great place for fine dining whilst enjoying the spectacular views. We were lucky enough to have a window seat and a clear night which made the experience that much more special.

Delicious food and great service - highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fine dining experience!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here for one of our first special dinners for our honeymoon and from the moment you leave the elevator to until the end of the night, it was a great, memorable experience. The first good thing about this restaurant is that with a reservation, you get to head up to the observation deck of the Sky Tower around 30 minutes before so you can take some photos before, and then again after dinner you can head back down to the observation deck for some more photos. This allows you to get a good range of photos in the light and dark.

As for the dinner, we had a table next to the window, which had an awesome view (anyone going should *try* and get a window table. That being said, the booths a little bit in still looked like they had a great view)! We started with a bottle of Moet and Chandon sparkling and which they brought over to us, while waiting for our table to be cleared (which was a nice touch!). Our waiter was extremely friendly and took an interest in our time in NZ (he also had a side conversation with me about one of my recent Business trips to the Philippines) which was awesome.

All of the food was worth it! The meat was cooked perfectly and the meals were extremely well seasoned!

A great 'Fancy' night out for anyone that wants an exceptional dinner, with great views and excellent service that is priced well for the experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatthe2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orbit also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Orbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing