We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frite quantity is smaller each visit.”

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #36 of 2,311 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Frite quantity is smaller each visit.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love the steamed mussels with blue cheese and spinach our usual favourite. However the quality does depend on the chef. On this occasion there was a minute glob of cheese and a tiny piece of spinach.Normally frites are a highlight however the size of the bowl has been reduced considerably since our last visit. We visited Ponsonby Rooad Occidental the following evening and found we got much better value for the same dish!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin11457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    267
    65
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not very Belgian”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pub style place with good Belgian leffe beer (14 each for 500ml). Food was unmemorable - 1 stew (AUS$18.50) and 1 sausage (19.50) - and a bit on the pricy side. Not a lot of choice of places to eat on a rainy Sunday in July!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good Pub, Not good Breakfast”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to try something different for breakfast - we tried this place. As a cafe it is a good pub. Go there for drinks and lunch - I would suggest there are plenty of other places to go for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joneses2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good beer, great food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ran across this pub in downtown Auckland while wandering around looking for Albert Park. What a find! I love Belgian-style beers, and this place has a great selection. What surprised me was the great food. They sell mussels by the kilo, or half kilo, and they were fantastic --- extremely large and tasty. My version featured a creamy broth with blue cheese and spinach --- delicious. I also shared some beer-battered oysters with a friend, and they were maybe the best I've ever eaten!

The decor is very informal and pub-like, with daily specials printed on a large chalkboard. Service was attentive, and the food came right out after our order. At first glance, prices were a bit high. However, like almost all restaurants in NZ and Australia, there is no sales tax added, and no tipping (at least not at lunch). So, a good overall value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hitman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mussels are great!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Try Popeyes and Spanish green lip mussels
They are the best !
Wide variety of beers to choose ....my beer is the leffe dark .
Steps from queen st. Downtown Auckland

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billymdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing