We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable”

O'Connell St Bistro
Ranked #40 of 2,353 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro. Awarded 1 Hat in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2017 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000. Reservations are recommended.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Auckland's best in our opinion. It's always reliable, the food quality, preparation, menu diversity and service all rate as the best. One of the very few places in NZ that I will order steak, they obviously buy good produce and prepare it well. This was probably our 10th return visit, really should have reviewed it before, but you know what its like!

Good wine list, by the glass as well as bottle. Same a level of prices as the other fine dining restaurants in Auckland but they deliver more in the overall experience. Highly recommend but its not big so you should book. Good for business as well as personal dining.

Menu good, wine list good, room good, acoustics excellent, bathrooms clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Murlin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello Murlin100
Thank you for your review.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at the Bistro again
& look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Auckland.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I used to live in Auckland and when I did I frequented this restaurant a number of times. I always enjoyed it.

I was back in NZ for a holiday recently and went back to this restaurant. I am happy to say that the food, service and atmosphere is still exceptional. It cant be faulted. Great selection of New Zealand wines (we had a nice pinot noir from Mt Difficulty) and the food is to die for. Service is very attentive but not so much so as to feel like you are never left alone at your table. Service is also professional but not stuffy and wooden.

From the moment you walk through the door you are warmly welcomed and your great experience continues right through to when you walk out the door. Its little things that make differences, for example when you leave they ask how you are getting home and enquire if you would like a taxi. A small thing but also a big thing in my opinion to do.

Life is cruel, why cant this restaurant be where I live now?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scotttravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello Scotttravellernz
Thank you very much for your review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your dinner at the Bistro when you last visited Auckland
& look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Auckland.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Invited to a set dinner at O'Connell St Bistro last night and the food and wine was delicious and excellent. Warmly welcomed by management upon arrival.

Wine selection very good and matched the set dinner menu we had.

Loved the crispy fried squid with the very tasty vegetable and herb salad - yummy - get combo of flavours.

The highlight dish for me was the pineapple mille feuille [very delicate] with lychees and pineapple compote - absolutely delicious and a great ending to a fab meal.

Restaurant was full and people seem to be enjoying the ambience and company - so despite some previous reviews I found this environment great. Lots of wait service so no complaints there.

Lovely to have clean white starched tablecloths and fine glasses.

Overall a very satisfying experience - go and see for yourself - food and wine tops!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonseyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hello JonseyNewZealand
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your evening at O'Connell Street Bistro
& we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro in the near future.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to this Restaurant as a special night out in Auckland. We had looked on trip advisor & talked to a friend before booking.Found the Restaurant had a nice atmosphere but was extremely stuffy - although it was a nice temperature it seemed like it was lacking a good dose of fresh air! Service was good. Food was disapointing. The portion size was good but flavours in entree & mains did not seem to mix well at all. The flavour of the desert was nice but nothing special. We were sad this dinner out didn't meet our expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rangatira2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hello Rangitira 2
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your dinner at O'Connell Street Bistro.
We have had many positive comments about the restaurant, food, ambience & service over the 17 years we have been in operation, but thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here for a birthday, as my partner had been wanting to go for ages. The food was great, but I felt that the experience was a little over-priced. It was a busy Saturday night, and it felt overcrowded, with wait staff squeezing between tightly packed tables, and a high decibel level that meant all conversation needed to be shouted. It's a nice building, but the decor looked a little worn round the edges, and it just felt a bit small for that amount of people. Shame, as the food was really very good, and the wine list was reasonably extensive. Everything felt just a few $$ too expensive for what we got in terms of portion size. Overall, nice, but not quite there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hello Outinthemiddaysun
We're pleased that you felt our food was very good & our wine list extensive.
I'm sorry that you felt that the restaurant was noisy & overcrowded, as we are a Bistro rather than a fine dining restaurant & Saturday night is one of our busiest nights of the week, but thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing