We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish French Bistro Style in the Heart of Auckland”

O'Connell St Bistro
Ranked #12 of 2,417 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro. Awarded 1 Hat in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2017 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000. Reservations are recommended.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A group of friends and I recently went to this restaurant having read some very positive reviews.
The reviews weren't wrong.

The biggest problem was that there were too many tempting options for each course.

What I ordered (Ox Tongue and Venison) was spot on.

The wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced.

The service was efficient and friendly.

The restaurant was cosy and had a lovely atmosphere.

This will be one for my next visit to Auckland.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MXKBrisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello MXKBrisbane75
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro recently &
look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again when you next visit Auckland.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My colleague and I were taking one our customers to dinner and we booked a table at short notice at the restaurant. We were greeted and seated efficiently and from there the service and experience was simply great. The menu and wine list were varied and extensive and also added to by our friendly and knowledgeable waiter. The service remained attentive but not obtrusive throughout the evening and we thouroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Really recommend everything about it. Will definitely go back when next visiting the Auckland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicko44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello Nicko44
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro recently
& look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again when you next visit Auckland.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Walked in at 6.30pm on a Saturday without a reservation. Very prompt attention had us seated but with the proviso that the table was needed by 8.30pm. Worked for us. Wine and table service was excellent. Knowledgeable and approachable. Quite professional. Shared the liver parfait with brioche as a starter. It was excellent. Wait staff identified early that we could do with extra brioche - it was offered and delivered promptly. Mains took some time, and a couple of apologies from staff. Must admit that I checked my watch for the deadline a couple of times. But in the end - no problems. My partner had the venison and was most pleased. I had the duck. The breast meat was so tender. A delight to eat. The leg was under seasoned and a little dry. Disappointing but not enough to spoil what was a very good meal. The wine list is impressive. Prices are what is to be expected of a class restaurant like this. It has been 10 years since I have eaten here. But it won't be 10 more. Thank you. A most enjoyable evening.

Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OConnellStBistro, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear PedroNP
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at O'Connell Street Bistro on
Saturday night & have noted your comments regarding the Duck main course.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again soon.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food at our recent visit for dinner on Friday at this well respected restaurant was superb. Perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and hot when served. We loved the menu, food and wine list. The restaurant deserves all the accolades heaped upon it in relation to the food.

However, we were disappointed at the service. A somewhat dictatorial waitress who obviously wanted to get our service over and done with combined with very slow cocktail service, one cocktail never even arrived and a side dish was never served. Unacceptable for a restaurant of this calibre.

I think in future we will be going to a more welcoming restaurant of which there are no shortage in Auckland with excellent cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank professional2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Bev P
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner at O'Connell Street Bistro & have addressed
your comments regarding the service you received with the staff member who served you on the night.
We look forward to welcoming you back to O'Connell Street Bistro in the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We love the service and food quality in Auckland and this was one of the best we have experienced. We enjoyed a relaxing lunch with fantastic food. The only downside was that the waiter ended up giving us the wrong wine in the end which was twice the price of what we selected. It was a French label we were not familiar so did not realise. But it was beautiful so all we just enjoyed the experience as a special treat in the end.
Would definitely go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharnie_at_Kawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sharnie_at _Kawana
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro & have noted your feedback regarding the wine service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to O'Connell Street Bistro in the near future.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing