We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special taste of Napoli”
Review of O Sarracino Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

O Sarracino Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2013

An outstanding restaurant for a special occasion. Tastefully decorated with large family photos displayed on the walls, there is a real feel of bringing Italy to Auckland. The meals were superb with a number of specials adding to the extensive menu, and even variations to meet special diet requirements were all "no problem". All in all, a very reasonable priced option for a restaurant which is a special place to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ChrisR565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Came on a Saturday night with no reservation and we were afraid we might be turned away but the owner was kind enough to make a place for us. We disagree about the other reviews of the owner. Maybe they just don't understand the Italian attitude. We thought he was very friendly and didn't look down on us even though we are not nearly experts on the food. The atmosphere was good, very authentic Italian style. It was packed, full house.

Delicious, fresh food. Mouth watering Angus beef with mushroom sauce. Around $200 for two including wine.

Must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jiajiabinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the first review we have ever written about anything. However, our experience last night was so exceptional that we are compelled to take the time to share some strong words of praise and recommendation! The combination of excellent food, service and the relaxed but intimate atmosphere encapsulated all things Italian.
Having lived in Napoli 2 years ago, we can attest to the authenticity of the food and the atmosphere delivered by the friendly staff. We started with the antipasto platter for 2, followed by pesce of the day (snapper), and duck-filled ravioli special. Each mouthful was a religious experience, from the first to the last - but we were so full we could not finish! The wine (Canapi nero d'avola) was delicious. Honestly, the best food or meal we have had since leaving Italy 2 years ago - maybe even the best ever! Not to mention we were made to feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant, and being last to leave we were never rushed out the door. Grazie Gaetano and your wonderful crew for a perfect night! We will certainly be back for the next special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marioandrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm not a fan of Italian food - but when Dad books a table with Gaetano - I make room in my tummy to eat! We never look at the menu, and trust Gaetano and his wonderful wife to supply us with what they want to cook that night. The food never stops and the wine is free flowing and perfect complements to every course. The night always ends with a delicious nightcap before we roll ourselves home. Be Warned! bring your Italian gusto to the table - these portions are designed to fill! :)))

1  Thank iamkatythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have heard much about O'Sarracino since it opened at the top of Mt Eden Road some years ago, but only recently managed our first visit. It has not been easy to find fine Italian dining since the demise of "Ciao" on the Shore 4 years ago. There are many small Italian trattorias and larger franchises such as the several Portofino branches, but few establishments that offer the wonder that is the very finest Italian cuisine. O'S is one such establishment and our recent visit will not be the last by any means.

The restaurant is situated at the top of Symonds Street at the intersection with Mt Eden Road. For visitors to Auckland this is a 10 minute taxi ride from the centre of town. If you are travelling there in your own car, there is a convenient pay-and-display carpark just opposite the restaurant, accessed from Symonds Street.

The restaurant has a non nonsense style about the interior. The white table cloths and napkins are set off with classic stemware and cutlery. It all looks simple and classically attuned to the enjoyment of food. Service was prompt and efficient. Some of this was conducted by the patron Gaetano Spinosa who has a lovely sense of "take it or leave it" about him - at the end of the evening he denied one of our party a trim flat white coffee (unknown in his restaurant) but brought her a lemon infusion instead.

On arrival we were shown to our reserved table. This was on a Friday evening and the place was busy but not crowded, but reservations are a wise precaution and as the night went on some late comers were turned away. When reserving a table you are given the chance to pre-order mixed antipasti for the table. These were a stunning selection of dishes from lemon calamari and prawns, to spiced sausage with bok choy (it worked!), to mozarella dripping with buffalo milk served on baked rounds of bread (exquisite).

The main courses are all authentic Neopolitan dishes. My Panzotti al Ragu Napolitano was a delicious combination of pasta stuffed with spiced meats. served with slow cooked pieces of steak in a sauce that was a wonderful concoction of tomatoes, onion, olive oil and cheese, all spiced with a subtle use of fine white pepper. Two of our party had the Brasato al Vino Rosso which was a slice of slow cooked topside of beef served with a truffle mash. They were slightly disappointed with the mash - maybe a little too subtle with the truffle - but the meat was succulent and beautifully tender. All this was washed down with a superb Ampelo di Pulgia which at $58 was pretty well priced for a wine of that quality.

A small dessert selection is available but the beauty of it is that it comprises traditional desserts, not modern variations. The panacotta was unadorned and lovely. The sorbetto was light and acidic, to cut through the richness of the preceding course. The digestive was a thrilling combination of mango, lime juice and vodka, something that should consign the ubiquitous limoncello to the back room!

Our dinner for 4 people including wines (4 glasses of Verdicchio and the bottle of Puglia) and digestive, cost an average of about NZ$80 a head. A very reasonable price for a meal which thoroughly lived up to reputation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sarracino Italian Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing