We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nishiki

Nishiki
Ranked #638 of 2,235 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamlton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great experience on Saturday night. Fast service and great food in a very crowded place. We were a party of four who had arrived late without a booking but that was no issue for the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidHamilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
“Japanese Restaurant par excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very pleased with the service at this restaurant. Meal and drinks arrived very quickly in a place that was very busy-we were lucky to get a table for 4. Very well prepared food which was succulent and sweet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidHamilt0n_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food in average surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ive eaten here lots of times. The food is fresh, tasty and fast but tonight we were seated down the back and it smelt bad! Like someone had peed under the table. We had to ask to have the table wiped down as it was all sticky. Lots of young peeps eat here and it's really noisy. The staff are friendly and you have to book to get in. Good fun to go in a group and order loads of small dishes to share.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestofTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Town for Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Most definitely the best place in Auckland when looking for authentic japanese food. The restaurant has plenty of smaller dishes on the menue (all the usual suspects and more!). Very Good value for money - you won't be able to spend more that $100 for a dinner for 2.
Alway busy - so booking is essential.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TobyKoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Small improvements could make all the difference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The place itself is a little run down and in the middle of a carpark near a main road. It is almost always busy so it pays to book in advance. We usually come here for a cheap BYO dinner ($6 corkage) with a reasonably large group of people. On the last occassion we booked for 12 people and they seated us at a table that could barely squeeze 6 people onto it - after repeatedly asking to be moved to a larger table our wish was granted. The food is good and well presented, mostly what you would expect a Japanese place to have. Everything is tapas size so you get to sample a few items.

On the last occasion we went here it was a mission to get the staff to take our order and the drinks we ordered took far too long to arrive. It was a busy night so considering that the food came out reasonably quick. When it got to about 11pm they said they were closing and demanded we pay immediately which I found to be a bit rude, we were still eating dessert. For a casual tapas-style Japanese restaurant it is a good enough place to dine (but does not compare to somewhere like Industry Zen which is incredible from food to service).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEM967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nishiki also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Nishiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing