We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not quite there.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nana Thai

Nana Thai
Ranked #1,547 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite there.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We celebrated a birthday here and the staff were friendly and did well to attend our requests and ensure that no one was left waiting for their meal. My other half and I shared 2 starters: the springrolls were crisp and fresh, the fishballs were less memorable. I had a tasty curry that I enjoyed, however, my companion's Pad Thai was particularly salty and very disappointing.

The other members of the party seemed happy enough with their meals so, all in all, a good evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We took friends to the lunch on a saturday, it was busy but really good, we all enjoyed being able to choose the dishes we wanted from the Buffet, which runs from 12 - 2pm Friday to Sunday,
The variety was great, something to suit everyone if you love Thai food, A very reasonable price too, check out their website http://www.nanathai.co.nz/Lunch/tabid/266/Default.aspx, a great family lunch was had by all, the staff are very friendly and attentive, they are really worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank athenry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaraunt in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Food selection and quality is superb. Staff are all fantastic and beautiful too. The host, nacha, is an absolute delight and I couldn't recommend this place any better. We have dined at Thai restaraunts in about 20 countries and this is the best, we go at least every week and are always taking friends and family. Along with Tusk in Balmoral, this is fantastic.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Thai food at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have dined at Nana Thai several times over the years and have always found the restaurant to be a good place to eat and entertain friends. Good food, well presented and spiced just right.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Despite the average reviews on here, mine is one of the better experiences.

I love Thai food, it is my favourite. My partner and I went here for Valentines day this year and had a delightful time. The place was decorated in romantic streamers and balloons for the occasion.

We had a delicious meal cooked perfect and enjoyed the service and large venue. It was full of couples enjoying the night. Waiters were great, the desk staff were a bit rude but were busy as well. Not a major.

Cocktails were average but I only tried two.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana Thai also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Manukau, Auckland Region
Otahuhu, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Nana Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing