We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexican Cafe

Mexican Cafe
Ranked #86 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We were made welcome when we arrived at a busy time without a reservation. Even before we had time to sit at the bar a table had been cleared for us. The menu gave a clear explanation of the food and once ordered, it was served piping hot to our table very quickly. This is an atmospheric place for a casual meal at a great price. Three drinks and two main meals cost NZD$58.00.

Helpful?
Thank sbj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    167
    69
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taber, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had lunch here and loved it. We ate from the $10 lunch menu which I felt was a great deal. The service was quick and efficient which was appreciated as it was lunchtime. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arodavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Boring, not traditional mexican...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beans with everything? this is far from traditional Mexican food, a great place for students or back packers on a budget otherwise boring and basic, not worth the visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lived in Auckland for a few years, have been time and time again, undoubtably the best mexican in NZ, great drinks, friendly staff, prompt service even when it's super busy (and it usually is). Friday night salsa night is always a good time too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank aibileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

On the first night of our holiday in Auckland we were not sure where to eat, but had heard good things about the Mexican Café, and being just around the corner from our apartment, and seeing the kids love Mexican we thought we'd try it out.

When we arrived we were seated in a semi-outdoor area, which would have been nice if my chair hadn't been on a really weird angle part-way down a step, and if the couple beside us weren't quite as keen talking about how tough it was to fight people: "I've been in a lot of fights." "Really, that's so awesome, you'd be able to take care of me." Really classy first date conversation. Can't really blame the café for that though!

We can blame them for the food and drink though. For drinks my daughter got a Passion Delite, a sort-of passionfruit margarita without the tequila. Nice idea, but it was so sickly sweet she couldn't drink it. My wife and I shared a jug of passionfruit margaritas, which were much more refreshing but seemed very weak.

The food seemed "dumbed down" for a New Zealand palate. It lacked the kind of punch you'd expect, and everything was smothered in cheese - my daughter thought Old El Paso from the supermarket tasted better.

The only positives were the corn chips and salsa on arrival - very nice - and the Ceviche which I had. Nice, flavourful, and I just wish the rest of the family had the same quality of food.

Service was rushed, but to be honest we didn't care - we left pretty quickly and won't be back next time we're in Auckland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arj-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing