We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mecca

Mecca
Ranked #543 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: New Zealand, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice breakfast at a very nice part of Auckland central.outside seating very pleasant.reasonable charge

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
333 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“We would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had lunch here. Pleasant location near the harbour, some tables have water views. We experienced great service and the staff were really friendly.
The desserts were excellent!!
The meal portions were not large but the food was very good.
We would go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food and the setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped at Mecca earlier in the week for morning coffee at their outside bar and found it to be a very pleasant place to relax and people watch. Then, one evening we were walking by on the way back to the hotel and the aroma of roasting lamb invited us to stop there for dinner.
This time we chose to sit inside, although it was open to the outside, so we had the best of both. We shared an appetizer with some cheese and olives which was good. For mains, I had the lamb steak, which was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. My husband had the spices chicken, which was juicy and tender and tasted great. We finished with coffee. My only negative comment would be that we had to order the coffee twice before we got it. Aside from that, everything was very good to excellent! And the prices were reasonable as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaMomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Next time I'll cook at home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Chicken lasagne: Bland and tasted like it had been re-heated in a microwave.
Pork Belly: I had one mouthful and found it pretty much inedible. A big slab of undercooked pork, a thick layer of fat and crackling so chewy it couldn't be cut let alone eaten. Head waiter apologised upon payment feedback but no compensation was offered. Pity as the location is very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely lunch at Mecca on a rainy Auckland day. No problem getting a table. for lunch. The pork Belly was excellent and they have a lovely wine list. Wonderful service and we highly recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigandTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing