We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant that doesn't have boiling water???”
Review of Mecca

Mecca
Ranked #158 of 2,257 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Cafe, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A restaurant that doesn't have boiling water???”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went for breakfast. Their coffee machine stopped working so we ordered tea instead. Waiter tells us they can't make tea either. We were confused. "Could the restaurant not boil some water and put a tea bag in it?"..we asked. We were told "no we can't. We are too busy in the kitchen to do that"....hmmm. Not impressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    89
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner from Heaven!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Chose to have dinner here to try something different... WOW amazing staff, meals that were amazing, i had the lamb shanks and the meat just fell off the bone. My wife had the steak and she loved every bit of it. Our daughter even enjoyed the potato which was a big bonus for us to have a happy child. The team were very friendly and helpful, service with a smile and they share experiences with yo to make that dinner more memorable. Thanks so much to all the staff and chefs there. We will be definatly coming back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BungyNeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
213 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Lamb Shanks!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great service and the Lamb Shanks were just what the doctor ordered! As a guest at the Sebel Suites, a charge-back facility was available as was the ability to order dessert and have it delivered to the room after dinner!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelManagerLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average food, service an atmosphere”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I'm spoilt for choice living in Wellington but I thought Mecca was wholeheartedly average for breakfast one Saturday morning when visiting Auckland. Food ok but nothing special and coffee pretty weak. Won't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful location”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and i spent most of our morning trying to find a place that still did breakfast after 10.30, and walked in to this place because it did. A very good decision on our part.

Breakfast finished at 11.30 (i think) and lunch starts at around 11. We got here about quater to 11. Even so they were happy to take my lunch order and his breakfast order and both meals arrived much faster than i expected.

I had the fish and chips, which were lovely. The salad dressing - i wish i asked what they used - was absolutely lovely. And the fries had just the right amount of crunchy. The fish was cod (says so on the menu) which isn't my favorite but was still nice.

The breakfast was also very good. Sausages were the best part. I do like my chorizos.

A tad on the expensive side for some people, but i was on vacation so like many people, will spend more. They even got a tip of the change in my wallet (sorry there wasn't much)

Quite a few people were here for graduation meals which i thought was cute :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate_adams_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing