We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“varied opinion”
Review of Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant - CLOSED

Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“varied opinion”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I enjoyed the meal and my husband enjoyed his meal and the wine that the waitress suggested. We did find the meal a bit confusing as the salmon that I ordered was not of the menu I ordered some side dishes that turned out could have feed the four of us and this wasn't explained to me as the others all had what they needed I felt that they over charged by not allowing me to have just enough for me and reflect this on our bill. So nice food but to pricey for the experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    89
    38
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice food but a bit too complicated, excellent service, boring interior decor”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we went for a grabone deal 6 courses degustation dinner. service was fenomenal thanks to a lovely canadian waitress who was very competent and enthusiastic. food was nice but a bit too complicated. all dishes were very very elaborated, in my view too much, while it would have been nice if at least one of 2 of them were simpler and focus on the freshness of the ingredients (ie. paua). the location is fantastic but the interior decor of the fine dining restaurant is just awful. the booking service was not so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed the view sitting on the deck, the waiting staff were excellent, very friendly and professional, the food was beautiful, and great wine

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We had spent weeks planning this meal, anticipating that the Kermadec would be all we'd been led to believe. Unfortunately this was not the case. The food was very average and the service slow. We had to wait over 40 minutes for our main to come out of the kitchen, which leads one to believe that it is too small for the size of the restaurant! The table behind us waited almost 30 minutes to order!!! The service and the food is not what one would expect from an establishment on the Auckland Viaduct.... Very disappointing and we won't be taking international guests here or recommending to locals

Helpful?
Thank Louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a great restaurant.. the seafood to share is great value and wonderful freshness. Starting with wonderful oysters it only gets better. The smoked salmon is sublime, the prawns lovely etc.

Service was also very good. A credit to everyone involved.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinceMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing