We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and views but...”

Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill
Ranked #67 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill reopened in October 2013 after an extensive, six-month refurbishment program that has taken the iconic Ferry Building's hospitality to a new level. After buying Harbourside in 2012, Good Group committed to a major redesign of the restaurant, with the objective of keeping the traditions of Harbourside that were built up over many years but modernizing both them and the fit out. The result has been a cleverly designed premium seafood restaurant located in an up market environment that delivers a unique experience. A key part of the redesign was the enhancement of the renowned outdoor deck area and the addition of a new retractable roof. Through clever architecture from Salmond Reed coupled with Good Group's own design input and the support from the Historic Places Trust a retractable canopy has been developed that ensures customers can enjoy dining on the deck in all weather conditions. The refurbishment has also seen the linking up of Harbourside upstairs with Botswana Butchery downstairs, via a new internal staircase, creating a multi level precinct that gives customers the ability to dine or visit the bars at either venue and have the convenience of one bill.
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location and views but...”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location with great views of the water front. Upscale restaurant on the second floor with a limited very expensive menu. There are much better choices in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    172
    66
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
palm desert
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The staff went the extra mile”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice location in the old Ferry Building. We were seated at a nice outside table one row back from the water. We asked if it was possible to have a front row seat, but they were all reserved. Our Waitress was nice and very helpful in suggestions from the menu. She was very honest on what was good and not so. When we were about finished with the appetizers, our Waitress came up and said that she understood from the Hostess that we wanted a front row table. She said that the party that reserved one did not show up and they could move us. The new table was very nice as we could watch all the action of the ferries coming and going. We ordered the Clam Chowder and it was excellent. It was full of fresh fish and shellfish and had a very good flavor. It was a meal in itself. We also had Calamari that was advertised as "very crispy" but it was wimpy. We had found that to be the case throughout New Zealand so maybe they like it that way. The dinners were very good, especially the "John Dory". Thanks to the Hostess and our Waitress for taking the extra step to make our evening even more enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good service food but food nothing special.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food is fine but nothing stood out. The decor needs a shake up and could do with a make over.Service was as expected from this type of restaurant.
If you go in a group; they do not accept more than one bill. Understandable, but the word is service and this seems to be lost on many businesses. We are not there to do the proprietors a favour. Would we go again? Maybe not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, steep prices”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great Seafood is what is advertised, great seafood you get. Of course the setting is accordingly, an unbeatable view on Aucland harbour.
We had a fine evening, only marred slightly by the expense, which to our opinion was exceding what was to be expected

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“" Lovely meal, great view"”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We decided to try this resturant after an afternoon show at the theatre & we were certainly not dissapointed. The fish was fresh , perfectly cooked & very tasty. As it was late afternoon we were lucky to have an outside table with great views of the harbour.The desserts we had were very good too, so we left very happy & contented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessica1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing