We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable!”

Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $0 - $205
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always reliable!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Always reliable! Been many times. Menu is great. View great Always busy. Never a problem to alter the menu for different tastes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebuds63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    16
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We timed our dinner perfectly to get an incredible view of the sunset - glorious! We had bread to start which was warm and tasty. The market fish (Snapper and other seafood in tomato coconut cream broth) and eye fillet (with horseradish gratin and cafe de paris) were ordered along with a side of broccolini and fries. Two sides for 2 people was unnecessary as we struggled to finish the broccolini and hardly touched the fries.
My fish dish was outstanding - loved every bit. Fish cooked to perfection, and the squid, mussels, scallops were delicate and went swimmingly with the broth. My husband didn't enjoy his eye fillet much though as it was slightly overdone and lacked flavour. He really enjoyed the gratin but was disappointed it lacked any horseradish taste. The dessert certainly made up for any lack in the main though - the orange brulee was superb! Perfect crack on top, smooth texture, balanced orange flavour and nice fizz with the sherbet. I wish I had room for one myself.
One thing I'd suggest for management - your choice of dinner music wasn't ideal for that type of setting... Las Ketchup? Last time I heard that was at the Loaded Hog ten years ago!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
391 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fish with a View !”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dinner with local friends at sun set! what do you expect more ! Good wine, good food and good service.
Wine was good, we know what we want. Riesling from home country.
Food, local fish ,fresh because the right day, good.
Service, could be better. Seems that the golden days of the restaurant is over. Waiter forgot to bring the right wine, than all double , it was a little stress for all fall of us.
However food was excellent, location too, and not every day we all are in the best mood, right !
So we will come again and enjoy the fish with a view!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Level Contributor
379 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely view, tasty food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were taken out to this restaurant and bar by locals. The menu was extensive with meat, fish and salad choices. It had been a cloudy and rainy day but the evening was clear and the view was beautiful. You could see the whole city. We each had an entree and a side. Both the ravioli and the porcini mush rooms were excellent as well as the heirloom tomatoes and the best root salad. We also,had the bitter orange crime brûlée. OMG yummy

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“OK, but prefer Sails”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Came here with colleagues, we had an ok meal but the real highlight was the sunset over Auckland. If I returned I would probably re-visit to sit on the balcony and just have a drink. The service was patchy and at times intrusive ,and when the food did come it was just OK. I would like to see a little more attention to service and food quality in this place, if that happened then it would be a great all round place - but for now it has a wonderful location not always backed up by the best food. Also much of the car park is unsighted so make sure you park close to the restaurant, and of course that nothing is in view - one of our colleagues had her car broken in to whilst we ate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing