We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like our last experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortuna Buffet Restaurant

Fortuna Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not like our last experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We dined here on New Years Eve and the food and atmosphere was disappointing. The majority of the other "diners" that night where people who obviously wanted to gorge themselves with as much food as they could looking at the size of them! The food was very average compared to when we visited one year ago, but it was New Years Eve and extremely busy so maybe it wasn't up to its normal standard. After this experience, I plan to give all buffet meals a miss in the future if I'm choosing where to dine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegsNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    116
    98
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buffet style dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved the variety of food, catching up with friends. Entrees you could enjou soup or fish. Main meal variety of salads, cold & hot food with deserts that your heart desire.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

great selection for a buffet, also that they had a buffet for the kids was great...xmas was celebrated in style so thank you so much for the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I went there about a week ago, because I had a Grabone voucher and thanks God for that!
The food doesn't worth the full price charged.
At first when you look you have the impression that there is heaps of different choices, but the reality is that it is the same food both sides of the buffet, quite disappointing really.
And the desserts didn't look appetizing at all!

Besides that, I had problem when trying to book, as soon as the voucher was mentioned, they said that they didn't have any tables available.
So, I rang the next day, didn't mention the voucher, got the booking confirmed, than rang again saying that I "forgot" to mention that I was using the voucher, than the lady made a note and it was fine.
Quite disappointing really, wouldn't expect that from the SKY CITY group.

In saying that, the highlight for me was the pork meat, which was really tasty, although the skin wasn't crispy.

But, in my opinion, if you are looking for an extraordinary buffet in AKL, forget about Fortuna, spend a little more and book Eight at the Langham Hotel!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biafrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went there for company Christmas lunch (buffet). The atmosphere was great.
But the food quality was just so so.
We were not impressed at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortuna Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fortuna Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing