We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffet style dining”

Fortuna Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #175 of 2,235 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buffet style dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved the variety of food, catching up with friends. Entrees you could enjou soup or fish. Main meal variety of salads, cold & hot food with deserts that your heart desire.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    117
    101
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

great selection for a buffet, also that they had a buffet for the kids was great...xmas was celebrated in style so thank you so much for the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I went there about a week ago, because I had a Grabone voucher and thanks God for that!
The food doesn't worth the full price charged.
At first when you look you have the impression that there is heaps of different choices, but the reality is that it is the same food both sides of the buffet, quite disappointing really.
And the desserts didn't look appetizing at all!

Besides that, I had problem when trying to book, as soon as the voucher was mentioned, they said that they didn't have any tables available.
So, I rang the next day, didn't mention the voucher, got the booking confirmed, than rang again saying that I "forgot" to mention that I was using the voucher, than the lady made a note and it was fine.
Quite disappointing really, wouldn't expect that from the SKY CITY group.

In saying that, the highlight for me was the pork meat, which was really tasty, although the skin wasn't crispy.

But, in my opinion, if you are looking for an extraordinary buffet in AKL, forget about Fortuna, spend a little more and book Eight at the Langham Hotel!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biafrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went there for company Christmas lunch (buffet). The atmosphere was great.
But the food quality was just so so.
We were not impressed at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We went to Fortuna's Restaurant for lunch with my family. We used our Grabone coupons! We were not very impressed from the beginning. The line up was very long. Then they gave us a wrong table. We were told we only have 90 minutes to eat. Every time we line up for food, nothing much left to take. I have to ask the staff few times to replenish the food. The ham was nice, but the brisket was terrible! Not enough meat, lots of sauce! The salad bar was alright so as the desserts!
I dont think we will come back to this restaurant! Most especially if I have to pay for a full price! Not worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank divastarzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortuna Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Manukau, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fortuna Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing