We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athmosperic harbour front pub”
Review of Danny Doolans

Danny Doolans
Ranked #212 of 2,358 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went there to have green lipped mussels cooked in wine with garlic and cream and they were very good. I had sourdough bread and olive oil and two other dips with it and a beer to round it of. The mussels were huge and I coulnot have eaten another thing.

Thank TomT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDoolansNZ, Public Relations Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hey TomT55
Thank you for your review of Danny Doolans, we're glad you enjoyed our garlic galway mussels
Thank you
Fern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Enjoyed lunch and drinks here on a rainy January afternoon. The food was decent, drinks were good, and the cost was reasonable. The pub is cozy and atmospheric with good service and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDoolansNZ, Public Relations Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hey flyiad
Thank you for you Danny Doolans review, we agree where else would you rather be on a rainy afternoon!
Thank you
Fern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stopped in here for a beer whilst wandering around the Viaduct. We heard the music playing which was two guys on guitars and they were awesome. Typical Irish Bar decor although a lot of memorabalia on display which was interesting to look at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDoolansNZ, Public Relations Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hey Ray D
Thank you for your Danny Doolans review, we're glad you enjoyed the musicians. We have Live Music 7nights a week so hope you get the chance to pop in again soon
Thank you
Fern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were in Auckland city on New Year' day and stopped to have lunch at Danny Doolans. It didn't have a surcharge which was really great, the meals were good value and really good. The staff were friendly and the service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is nice to escape here when it is raining if you can get a seat by one of the open fires. There is also regularly a band playing which is good fun.

Thank ATrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny Doolans also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Danny Doolans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing