We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cibo

Cibo
Ranked #50 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $42
Cuisines: New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was a special occasion and we hadn't been to Cibo for a while. It was a Saturday night. The restaurant soon filled up, with the doors open, doubling their dining space. The ambience was lovely, although its now fall here and a bit chilly after dark, so I appreciated my jacket. Music was pitched at just the right level not to be annoying and not to hear the neighbouring table.
After a somewhat rocky start the service improved during the evening but all evening food tended to be dumped onto the table.. There was no degustation menu available although they said we could make one out of the entrees. We did not. We had three courses. The food was generally of a very good standard but not all the flavour combinations worked. Good wines were available by the glass.We had a lovely evening and will come back. NZD 300 of 3 courses and 6 glasses of wine. We would consider this to be in the top 10 restaurants in Auckland but not the top 5.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    48
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Experimental Culinary Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The food is fabulous in taste and presentation. What I liked best was the combination of unusual flavours and textures that can really make a meal.
The plate sizes were generous and the service was perfect always there when you wanted them without being over bearing, clearly the staff are highly trained to put the customer experience as a priority.
It isn't a cheap evening out but you do get value for money....and I can't recommend their salted caramel peanut ice-cream sandwich strongly enough. I'm not really a dessert man but this was absolutely stunning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swiftyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
257 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Never fails - Great Consistency”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

An easy choice when you need to guarantee your guests will be satisfied. Food and service very good. Would not classify it as romantic, more business and group style. Fantastic wait staff and warmth that is hard to beat. Has a nice culture to it, which immediately relaxes ..... and so follows an evening of good food. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank astropig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a 9 course Degustation meal here, and WOW! delicious! both my Husband and I screwed up our noses at each other when we were brought out the zucchini soup -- but again - wow! it was devine!!!
Service was consistently great during the night, with every part of the meal, and each and every wine that came out with each part of the meal descibed in detail by our waiter
All in all a wonderful night with great food, and a great atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food served with cheeky humor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Every visit to Cibo is memorable, the superb food is a good starter but it doesn't end there - it's a great experience provided by a gaggle of waiters with a great sense of fun. Nothing is too much trouble, the service is consistently high and the food to die for. It's the best in Auckland, every time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing