We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$66
View deal
Booking.com
$66
View deal
Agoda.com
$50
View deal
Hotels.com$66
Priceline$65
Hurb$73
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
60
109
64
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
109
64
34
25
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 292 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

Maybe the worst room in the hotel? 1 am and can hear every word (wail) from the nearby karaoke bar, competing with the noise from air conditioning unit(not ours! ) outside. Have stayed here before but would prefer not to stay in this room again! Great character hotel but lacks air-con and soundproofing. Hubby also disappointed they no longer brew their own beer

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bjt632
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciated your feedback. Sorry it appears there is some confusion, we certainly brew beers at the brewery onsite, a total of 6 types of craft beers are done onsite which are very popular from decades.

We take guest feedback very seriously and noted the concerns. Sorry for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel and changing your experience in a different room type.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

Stayed here for one night. The hotel was nicely located. It is just a short walk to the Sky tower and the maritime museum. The room was basic and there was up a narrow staircase. Staff were very helpful and recommended things to see and helped me organise a taxi to the airport after I had no luck online. There are nice house beers and I would recommend "The Lover". I ate in the bar and the burger was very nice if a bit messy.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lt_Shade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Greetings valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history, we sincerely appreciated your wonderful feedback. We are glad the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with its 120 years of rich history and character, and the team delighted you. Our multi-lingual and friendly team goes the extra mile to ensure the guests enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Meanwhile, please feel free to let us know if we can be of assistance to look after any of your friends or family members travelling to Auckland in the near future.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare NZ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

First off, let me preface this by saying I have only been here once (in 2002). My wife and I were in transit to Christchurch and had a 24 hour layover in Auckland. I took a stroll and popped in for a pint and attempted to fathom a cricket test rolling on the tube. My impression was of a very friendly place filled with friendly folks.
Having said that, my wife has stayed here numerous times in transit to Christchurch to visit her sister. Most recently (August 2018) she arrived there at 7 a.m. with a raging sinus infection after a 13-hour-long flight. Even though they didn’t open until 10 a.m. the sole person working there at that hour let her in out of the cold and rain to warm herself in the lobby. They then got her into her room asap, provided her with a portable heater and bent over backwards to make sure she was well and comfortable. And for those reasons I can’t recommend this place enough. The Shakespeare really embodies the friendliness and hospitality I have always associated with the people of New Zealand.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Greetings valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history, we sincerely appreciated your wonderful feedback. We are glad the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with its 120 years of rich history and character, and the team delighted you. Our multi-lingual and friendly team goes the extra mile to ensure the guests enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Meanwhile, please feel free to let us know if we can be of assistance to look after any of your friends or family members travelling to Auckland in the near future.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare NZ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

This place was listed as best pub food in Auckland in Urbanspoon but we found the food to be disappointing. The ribs were tough, under cooked and hadn’t been cooked in any sauce - they just had sauce smothered on top. The cheeseburger was nothing special, it had no flavour and was just mince and salad on a roll. However, we had a nice night because the service was really great and the pub itself is quite lovely.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DiggiesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Manager at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear few things did not please you. Our new Head Chef has introduced a new comprehensive menu which is going very popular and delighting our valued customers.

Our guests and their comfort is very important for us, our multi-lingual and friendly team goes an extra mile to ensure the guests enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and changing your experience.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Hotel with a charm. Although my room was small, it was still quite peasant, however the whole hotel in a desperate need of refurbishing. It looks tired and worn out. On a positive side, the restaurant is nice, with nice food and home browed beer. The staff in the bar, hotel and the restaurant are really great. During my stay, it was really cold in the room and there was just small electric heater available.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VojkoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Manager at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history at the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with 120 years of history and character. We appreciated your feedback. We are glad the great dining and our popular brews delighted you.

We take guest feedback very seriously and noted the concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel and changing your experience in a different room type.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews