We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shakespeare Hotel - Excellent Value and Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Shakespeare Hotel was nestled in the heart of downtown. Location was great for easy access to buses and sights. Rooms were adequately furnished and clean. Bathrooms were modern but small. Appliances in room all worked. Hotel, despite being a pub, was quiet during the weekend. A small hotel, we felt like we had the place to ourselves, except for occasionally bumping into staff, owner, etc. Don’t expect all the luxuries of a large hotel, but just local hospitality and the needed necessities. Great value for your dollar! Food and beverages in pub were fabulous! Even if you don’t stay at the hotel, try their food! Expect a light crowd during the work week and a smaller crowd on weekend. It’s definitely a quieter pub, so don’t think you are going to be up all night if you stay there. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to those that have problems climbing stairs since there is no lift/elevator. All in all, Shakespeare Hotel is a fabulous find in our book and a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxyroxyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sylv'ain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p-y_de_San_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 697paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avons seulement mangé là
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navyroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate562016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland Central
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel

Address: 61 Albert Street | Corner of Wyndam & Albert Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1062, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1898 was the birth of the Shakespeare Hotel and ever since then it has been serving New Zealanders and travelers from around the globe with warm hospitality and wonderful flavours in food being New Zealand's first Brewpub, with our own crafted beer, handcrafted from one of New Zealand's award winning Brewers and a mix of local NZ beers. The Location of the Hotel is excellent bang in the middle of Auckland City so close to all transport with buses, ferrys etc within a few hundred meters. The accommodation consists of 10 rooms which are basic with an en-suite and the beds are comfortable. This is not your typical boring hotel. The Shakespeare oozes character and if you are afraid of walking up a few stairs then probably not the place to stay. Each room is different and the rooms on the top floor are more modern than the lower floor. The Terrace Restaurant offers a great mix of cuisine, live music out on the al fresco dining deck overlooking the city every Friday. We are not 5 star in terms of accommodation but we are definitely 5 stars in a good quality Kiwi experience...we look forward to having you as our guests.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Tavern And Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern Hotel Auckland Central
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing