We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never made a better choice than this!”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The house is really lovely.....and so were the host and hostess. I couldn't find any fault at all with it. Was so reluctant to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiMayYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Sunderland House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 230 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

As a mum of two young children, I have often wondered what the perfect getaway would be. I found it in the exquisite Premier Suite at Sunderland House. The attention to detail at this bed and breakfast is flawless. A couple of very rainy days provided me with the perfect excuse to spend more time in my room ... luxuriating in the oversized bath tub. Donald and Kathy are exemplary role models, reminding us that if you are going to do something do it properly!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle03067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed at the Sunderland House during our honeymoon, and I must say that we still remember the warm and friendly atmosphere that we found in this fantastic place. The hosts are such a wonderful people, they really make you fill you are at home, and for us "home" means on the other side of the world (we come from Rome, Italy).
The place is just beautiful, and our room (the Pink Room), is something we cannot describe!!! and the dog Ben....soooooo sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you for making our last days in New Zealand special and worth to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

First time in a home stay and can only rate it as above average accomodation in Auckland.
Have already told our friends in Christchurch about a special place to stay in Auckland and will stay there again while on the xenotransplant trials.
The recipe Donald gave me for chicken on a beer can is a winner and will be on the menue next time I go Thar shooting this year reflects genuine Kiwi hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

What a delightful little B&B. Perfect location, tastefully decorated rooms with a genuine luxurious but homely feel to them. Breakfast was generous and healthy – and tasty snacks always available.
Donald and Kathy are real gems who welcomed and entertained us,making us feel like family visitors rather than paying guests. There were plenty of helpful hints on places to visit and dine. We can't recommend it highly enough and would never stay anywhere else in Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We would unhestitatingly recommend Sunderland House to anyone. Everything was perfect - our Pink room (the Premier Suite ), the decor, the breakfast, the complimentary snacks and drinks, the library, the dog (Ben) and the hosts Donald and Kathy.
A superb place in a fantastic location, with lovely hosts., We won't stay anywhere else in Auckland on future visits!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Amazing B&b.a magical 'get away from it all' weekend.Wonderful hosts and ambience.
Sitting in the library in front of the fire ,with a glass of red wine,great company,great conversation was a prelude to a wonderful stay.

Will be my monthly 'get away from it " from now on.

sally walker

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 63 in Auckland Central
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 63 in Auckland Central
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $140 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing