We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 230 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We had a fantastic time. Everything was perfect - our host Donald made us feel very welcome. Extraordinary comfort. We felt like we'd been at a spa for 2 days just staying one night. Avoid Auckland city centre - this B&B is only 20 minutes away from town with loads of good restaurants 5 min walk away.
Fantastic way to start or end a holiday in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud-Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The interior design of this B&B is stunning, we felt at home instantly. The linnen is of a stunning quality, our room had a claw foot bath which we delighted in using. The smell of home baking and the food that Donald whip's up in the kitchen is sublime. Kathy & Donald were the greatest hosts along with Ben their dog. Location is perfect in the quiet back streets of Ponsonby/Herne Bay, yet close enough to top restaurants in Ponsonby. This place is one of the most welcoming and accomodating B&B's I have stayed in. We will definitely be back next time we are home in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is the very place to stay for a lovely and cozy getaway, close to excellent restuarants, shops and within easy access to the center of town. Donald and Kathy are wonderful innkeepers and you will be spoiled with excellent freshly baked muffins & croissants, along with sliced seasonal fruit platters all served on fine linens and silverware under candlelight for each breakfast. Try Donald's cappucinos and espressos - the best you've ever had and taste his freshly baked goodies each afternoon along with a cup of the many teas he has on offer. Both of them are so very helpful in booking wine tours, airport shuttles and dinner reservations, as well as giving pointers for things to do in the area. You will love this place - we didn't want to leave and definitely would return if we have the chance. Donald will try his very best to assist you in every way possible! Such service!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Warm welcome & excellent hosts, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast - Donald's muffins are to die for, and even though you are in central Auckland the house is in a quiet street with restaurants nearby - what more could you want. We loved our stay Donald & Kathy and will certainly be back when we need another city fix! Chris & Paul

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwihoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

When I choose a B&B I never before got a breakfast with homemade muesli or a fruit plate with about 10 different fruits (all of them sliced and decorated). The rooms are victorian style with love to any detail. I absolutely can recommend staying at Sunderland House.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berlin_bear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews