We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunderland House
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$242
$210
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$131
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$103
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$109
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 230 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We're regular visitors to Auckland but generally tend to stay near the airport or in the Hilton in the center of the city, for business reasons. However this trip was a leisure trip, planned around our wedding anniversary, so we were looking for somewhere a little more personal to stay. Sunderland House certainly fulfilled our expectations and gave us a great experience.
Firstly, the B&B is in an excellent location, a few minutes walk from restaurants and the water and only 5-10 minutes drive from the CBD. And you can avoid the tedious trek across the bridge from the North Shore (awful in peak hour).
Secondly, Donald and Kathy have established a beautiful B&B in a purpose built home. Quiet, very comfortable (even in the smallest of the three rooms) with personal care and attention. Donald gave us great restaurant tips & told us about a shortcut to our regular favourite (Empress Garden, for excellent Peking Duck).
Kathy kindly passed on her breakfast muffin recipe and gave us a couple to take with us on a day when we had a long drive.
And, should you be a closet Nevil Shute fan ( a British / Australian author from the 1950's) Kathy is an expert, with a excellent collection of early editions.
All in all we had an pleasurable experience, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

A wedding anniversary is always special and we were delighted to make your stay memorable. We take pleasure in giving that personal touch, creating a place that is set apart from the norm both in interior design and hospitality. Thank you for such a fine review and keep enjoying those anniversaries where ever you may be in the world, may be at "A town like Alice" (Neville Shute)
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay at this wonderful B&B owned and run by the most lovely, friendly couple Donald and Kathy, not forgetting their lovely dog Ben, the B&B is an absolute credit to all the hard work Donald and Kathy devote to it. From the moment we arrived to a wonderful warm welcome to the minute we left feeling life old friends our stay was fantastic, the decor in the B&B is beautiful, our room was amazing with a roll top bath, a wooden balcony with a view of the sky tower, chandeliers and lovely bedding. A fantastic tea and coffee area with home baked cakes and cookies daily to help yourself, simply delicious, and the breakfast was fantastic, the homemade muesli and muffins, bread and fresh fruit, not to mention the fresh ground coffee is wonderful. Donald and Kathy are the most helpful lovely hosts and are full of great tips and information to help get the most out of your stay in Auckland. Sunderland house is 5 star all round and Donald and Kathy deserve to be number 1, if you don't book here you will be missing out on a truly fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucko2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Our Premier Suite is our flagship and it was lovely having you stay with us for 3 nights so you were able to enjoy not only the suite but Sunderland House in general and everything we have to offer from cookies to hammocks, espresso coffees to relaxing in the library. We enjoy all our guests and are always pleased when our guests enjoy us. Thank you so much for such terrific feedback.
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed there the 3 last night of our 4 week road trip in New Zealand and I have to say we could not finish our trip in a better way ! The house is beautiful and decorated with lot of taste. The breakfast done by Donald is delicious - there is everything we need and much more. The house is very well located very close to city center, there is a bus stop close to the house and it only takes 10 minutes to get to Queen street. There are also a lot of very good restaurants nearby the house. Free wifi is also a available in the house. The room is big with a nice view over the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We are fortunate with being served with an excellent bus service making distances quite minimal. We also find the 45 minute coastal walk to the centre is popular giving one the taste of Auckland's beautiful harbor and marinas, making the most of a 3 day visit. Thank you, your review is well appreciated and glad that your stay with us was regarded as excellent.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after a 41 day cruise in November and loved every time spent. The rooms are sumptuous and the beds are extremely comfortable. Everything is spotless and supplied that one would need. Our hosts were a delight, and the décor throughout the place fabulous. All in all I give it a 5 star, wish I could give more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Often we have guests that have either finished a cruise or about to embark on one and it is always a pleasure to be a highlight of their travels, their only disappointment being they wished they had stayed longer especially after a long voyage at sea. Great that we were able to provide all you needed to relax and enjoy. Thank you for such a concise positive review and taking the time to write it,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous 1 night stay with Donald and Kathy in November for our last night in NZ after a three week tour of the country. It was by far one of the best experiences we had, and it felt like we were staying with old friends....we only wished we could have stayed longer. Not only was our room luxuriously comfortable and relaxing, but the attention to detail and warm welcome means we cannot recommend Sunderland House highly enough. As a vegan I am always anxious as to what to expect, but Donald seemed to embrace this, with freshly baked bread and muffins in addition to all the other scrummy items on the breakfast menu... And I was given some to take away which I thoroughly enjoyed en route back to the UK! I was also given a non feather pillow, an ethical choice that is never normally considered and only added to my good nights sleep. I am only sorry that I have taken so long to sing the praises of this B&B, which fully deserves to be No.1! We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JkMowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We strive to be number one on Trip Advisor and thank you for such a wonderful accolade. We have been awarded the Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Award (The 4th year running) and its thanks to all the excellent reviews that our guests have submitted.
We are always happy to accommodate guests dietary and personal conscience needs, it also enriches our lives.
Thank you again, a well appreciated review
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews