We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful anniversary stay at Sunderland House in late November. We recommend Sunderland House wholeheartedly! Everything about our stay was top of the line, and Kathy and Donald - as friendly, interesting, and wonderful people - really made our stay special and unforgettable. We're so grateful to them for their warm hospitality and thoughtful advice to us, as we're just beginning our time and travels in NZ.

We enjoyed everything about our weekend in Auckland and especially at Sunderland. We felt welcome from the moment we stepped in the door. The freshly brewed espresso and homemade toasts, muffins, and preserves made our mornings particularly memorable, and made for a great start to our days! We were so happy with the comfort and style of the place and location. We also loved meeting Ben, the amiable springer-spaniel and house mascot.

Kathy and Donald treated us not only as guests, but as friends, and they are not only great hosts, but great people, that we're glad to know!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

That early morning flight (6am arrival) can be tricky for the traveler and we are always delighted to welcome guests with an early morning espresso and muffins, no matter what time it is. We trust your new beginnings in Wellington will be equally memorable and thank you for taking time out to write this review. May we see you back in Auckland some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 230 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We are seasoned B&B guests, and this one is outstanding. Well situated, very comfortable
and the breakfast is special. Also, Donald endeavored every morning to bake us a special
gluten-free meal. Despite his opinion, they were delicious. We spent four nights with the
Sunderlands and would give them our highest recommendation. We hope to visit again
soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

We love the challenge of meeting everyones dietary needs and it was wonderful to get such great feed back re: Our the Gluten Free Breakfasts. Thank you for such a positive review covering all aspects of our B & B, we aim to please on all fronts and glad we came up to expectation.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent two lovely days & nights staying with Donald & Kathy & thoroughly enjoyed our stay & wished we could have stayed much longer, simply to enjoy their wonderful company & to enjoy all the comforts of their amazing B & B.
From the welcoming blackboard by the front door to the delicious breakfasts on the back patio served on beautiful fine bone china that simply made you want to sit & enjoy & forget about the rest of your day. The lovely breakfast setting & fine crockery & cutlery it was served on, not to mention the tasty food & coffee, had all the guests milling around so you got to meet some very interesting & exciting people. I also think because of this beautiful home no-one was grumpy or complaining & that made it even more enjoyable again.

We had the super king room @ the top of the stairs & this was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, had amazing views & it was beautifully laid out right down to the gorgeous claw foot bath in the corner with all the necessities which we sadly decided not to enjoy as it was a tad hot in the room. The bathroom was extremely large and comfortable with everything you needed & again spotlessly clean.
There was plenty of wardrobe & storage space right down to a decent iron & ironing board & just outside our door were provisions for making tea & coffee served with delicious home-made munchies & again all served on beautiful fine bone china.

Donald and Kathy were a wealth of knowledge & could recommend many places to eat that were just a few minutes walk from their home.
As we were leaving late in the afternoon Donald was so accommodating & even though they were fully booked again they allowed us to stay as long as possible in our room & cleaned it last. You could also store your luggage if you needed. These are the little things that make stays priceless in places & are a much needed necessity when travelling, & knowing everything is safe is superb.

Donald & Kathy are truly lovely people, they have a beautiful home, they are interesting to talk to but are not in anyway intrusive & they are genuinely interested in all who stay. Sunderland House feels like a home away from home & we would not hesitate to stay there again & we would highly recommend this great B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for such an extensive and well thought out review, we appreciate the time you took to write so many detailed positives about Sunderland House. The Premier Suite is our pride of all our suites and glad you were able to appreciate all those extra details large or small. We would welcome you back even in winter when the Claw Foot bath is a "Must Do" luxury, whilst in summer the balcony and views is the winning feature.
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our last night in New Zealand was spent at the Sunderland House in Aukland. Our hosts, Donald and Kathy were so inviting. As we approached the front door, we saw a small blackboard with a welcome written on it. How nice. Our room was spacious with a king bed and a lovely claw foot tub in one corner. The bathroom was large and comfortable. The small balcony had a view of the Auckland skyline. Since we got to Auckland late in the day, we were hungry and Donald and Kathy recommended an excellent Italian restaurant just a few minutes walk from their home. They steered us right. The food was delicious. Breakfast on the veranda the next morning was a beautiful experience. The weather was perfect and the bougainvilea were in bloom. We had a wonderful conversation and were allowed to keep our room until 3 since we had just a few hours to see anything of the city. The last good deed our hosts did for us was to give instructions to the airport that totally avoided driving in city traffic. The instructions were easy to follow and we had not trouble finding our way. Thank you Donald and Kathy for making our last day in Auckland so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

With you traveling the length of NZ and staying in so many different B & B' and we were the last on your journeys it is so wonderful that you have ranked us as one of the best. We enjoy to be able to give beyond the call of duty and make the final nights in NZ special, to take with you fond memories. If we can make for an easier long journey home we will try to do so. Thank you for taking time out to write a review it just makes all our efforts worth while,
With much Aroha (Love) Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a lovely home! Sunderland is in a wonderful neighborhood location that is just a quick walk to delicious restaurants and shopping. Donald and Dorothy are such lovely hosts! Not only was their home perfect and well appointed but they went out of their way to make us feel like family. They recommended a great walk, delicious dinner spot and even got up early to make sure we were fed before our early morning flight. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

The early morning breakfast sets our guests up before embarking on a long haul flight and we are more than happy to do just that. We also like to make a personal touch with our guests but at the same time respect their privacy and we are glad that we met your needs in all the respective areas. Thank you as we are very grateful for the terrific review and Kathy alias Dorothy was quite amused with your unintentional name change on your report,
Hopefully we will see you both again in the future,
Warm Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a great introduction to Auckland and staying in B&B's! Donald and Kathy are great hosts...very warm and friendly..we had great conversations ....the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed ...Donald's breakfasts are delicious and well presented...the location is ideal- 30 minute walk to the city or just hop on the outer link just a block away!
This was a great way to start my husband's 60th birthday celebration.
Donald..your popovers are supreme!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for introducing us to "Pop Overs", although we don't offer them everyday they have become a great savory alternative to our well received sweet muffins and ideal for diabetics as there isn't a grain of sugar in sight - The more I make, the higher they rise and the better they get. This suits our B & B breakfasts perfectly. Thank you also for the wonderful review and as you pointed out we are well sited to the city and it is such a lovely walk around the coastline. The outer or inner link bus service being a good standby if fellow guests are weary or the weather not all that conducive to outdoor pursuits. May the 60th birthday continue on with many memorable moments,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our stay with Kathy and Donald was absolutely fantastic. They really are the most welcoming of hosts. The house is really beautiful and easy to find and the room was wonderfully comfortable (just what you need after a 20+ hour flight) with views towards the city. The breakfasts are fantastic with gorgeous fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins every day and terrific flat whites (new to us as first time visitors to NZ). And they could not have been more helpful with advice about things to see and do in Auckland. And if you are staying for a few days you don't need to use the car as the bus goes from the top of the road. We really do recommend it. Thank you Kathy and Donald

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Comfort and friendliness is a priority especially after a long haul flight and thank you for reviewing our B & B with such high accolades. Such positive feed back is always appreciated as it shows we are right on the mark in an ever changing travelers world of technology but at the same time providing that personal touch,
Thank you again,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 62 in Auckland Central
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 62 in Auckland Central
207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $129 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing