We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 230 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our arrival in NZ and then 2 nights just before our departure. Donald could not have been more accommodating and we were made most welcome. The house is stunning and Ponsonby is a lovely area of Auckland and just a short hop to the centre with an excellent frequent bus service.

We stayed in the luxurious and sumptuous Premier Suite which has a view of the Auckland City centre and the Sky Tower.

Our breakfast fruit platters were fantastic and the museli - well, Donald gave me the recipe and I have made it several times since coming home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folks-on-the-hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have been travelling through New Zealand for some time and this is simply the best b@b in New Zealand. Donald and Kathy are fantastic hosts. The house is beautiful and we really felt part of the family. The breakfasts were delicious. Homemade muesli and muffins, fresh fruit, croissants etc. The bedroom we had was really lovely..

We arrived very early in the morning and Donald made us tea and served fesh muffins. He really does go that extra mile and nothing was too much trouble. Ben, the spaniel was and added attraction and kept us amused.

We even had port and chocolates in the room everything evening and you could make tea and coffee at any time. There were always biscuits and homemade cake on hand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This place is simply awesome. Lovely rooms (we were in the largest - neat little balcony, clawfoot bath in the corner of the bedroom, walk in wardrobe / dressing areas, nice bathroom, king bed and great sunrise views - as well as views over the city), simply awesome hosts, wonderful wonderful breakfast, and lots of little extras like port, choccies and home baking. You can use the lovely library and the balcony, and there's a hammock in the back garden as well. It's in Herne Bay and is a minute or two walk to the bus stop which will take you into town. The buses only go until about 11 and since we were later than that we walked home rather than bothering with a cab, which was fine, a longish but perfectly doable walk. Breakfast was a gorgeous platter of fruit, cereals including very good homemade muesli, yoghurt etc, toast, croissants which we didn't have, and yummy homemade muffins. free wifi. Donald and Kathy are absolutely lovely and really make this place - we felt very welcome and that we had met new friends. We'll be going back - for longer next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We ended our 5 week tour of Australia and New Zealand by choosing to stay someplace special and Sunderland House was that place. It's a beautiful house with beautiful and comfortable bedrooms. Donald and Kathy are wonderful hosts and Ben, their dog, will win your heart.

Donald prepares all kinds of beautiful fruits and presents them nicely. He also makes the most delicious muffins. I am on a special diet so he had soy milk at had and made muffins that no one would know did not contain dairy.

We loved it there and if we ever return to NZ, we'll have to make Sunderland's our first stop.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markru_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

built new to look like a turn of the century Auckland villa, Sunderland house is a stunner. Not only is it beautifully decorated but the hosts Donald and his wife are fantasic. From the little touches such as complimentary baked goods and fresh fruit as well as port/wine/coffee/tea all the right boxes are so effortlessly ticked. Situated in Herne bay (which is a lovelly leafy, green suburb with georgeous old houses and lots of great cafes/restaurants), I'd strongly reccomend Sunderland house if you're heading to Auckland and want a decent alternative to a bland no personality hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews