We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 230 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a purpose built B&B managed by an extremely genuine and sincere owner, Donald Sunderland.  It is located @4 km from the quays in downtown Auckland, but only 150m from a bus stop with service every 15 minutes to and from the city.  The B&B is very well designed and decorated, using only high quality furnishings and fittings.  Breakfasts are served on a terrace with excellent fruit, croissants, homemade muffins and fantastic coffee.  Guests are from around the World, leading to great conversations over breakfasts.  Also, Donald makes himself available to answer all your questions making your stay even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bepsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

During our travel through New Zealand this holiday, Sunderland House was definitely one of the best experiences we had... The hosts are most gracious and exceptionally helpful, with a strong passion for what they do. The rooms are very nicely done, with a great view from the Suite, where we have stayed... The breakfast is delicious... You feel completely relaxed and cared for through out your stay... When back in Auckland, we will definitely return to this B&B, hospitality at its best...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The best; suberb hosts, stylish and comfortable rooms, a memorable breakfast, a very pleasant and quiet neighborhood with great shops and restaurants close by and easy transportation to all the sites of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Sunderland House was the first stop on our honeymoon to NZ. What a wonderful place! Donald is great to chat with and makes you feel very welcome. The rooms are all decorated with such taste and style. It was all the little things and finishing touches that really impressed, such as the delicious homemade treats, port & chocolates at our bedside table. We loved the trendy suburb with its swanky main street and beautiful houses. Perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mentmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I booked Sunderland cos of their #1 ranking and the pretty pictures of the premier room which comes with a foot-claw bathtub but we(family of 4) were pleasantly surprised and overwhelmed by the treats from Donald – cakes in the afternoon, cookies in the evening and muffins during breakfast – all home-baked by him. We were delighted when Donald packed some extras for us when we left. Donald bakes the best cookies and muffins - they are to die for! I can’t believe I’m still waxing lyrical over this. We had a good stay at Sunderland. The premier and green rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Other than free port and chocs in the rooms, we also had a good selection of tea/coffee and hot chocolate at the pantry. Donald makes a good coffee and was also helpful with directions. His wife Kathy helped too. Thanks for being such great hosts :) Donald, we miss your cookies and muffins! Kathy, we managed to find the Hundertwasser toilets at Kawakawa ;)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csh383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews