We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Taste of Auckland”
Review of Bush and Beach

Bush and Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bush and Beach is Auckland's premier small-group tour company. Daily award-winning tours take you to Auckland's coastal rain forest, wild black sand beaches, untamed Great Barrier Island, Coromandel Peninsula, Hobbiton and Waitomo area. Our experienced guides provide an interactive, unforgettable experience, including walks in lush rainforest, on awe-inspiring surf beaches, to lush wetlands and beautiful waterfalls.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

if you only have one day to get an overview of Auckland's highlights, this is a great tour to take. The tour groups are small (which i prefer) and therefore allow some customization. The guides are very knowledgable and specialized. We had a different guide in the morning (to show us the city) then in the afternoon (for the bush and beach). We also stopped for lunch in the Fish Market which was fun and visited two beaches-- both quaint Davenport and beautiful Piha beach. It was a truly lovely day with a fun group of people from all over the world.

4  Thank Expl0rethew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushandBeach, Front Office Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your Best of Both Worlds Tour we have put together to show the highlights of Auckland in one day. We live in a beautiful city and our guides love showing it off!
Thanks again,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hobbiton tour"
in 71 reviews
"wilderness experience"
in 34 reviews
"best of both worlds"
in 31 reviews
"rainforest walk"
in 24 reviews
"express tour"
in 20 reviews
"waitakere ranges"
in 41 reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 19 reviews
"movie set"
in 19 reviews
"green dragon"
in 24 reviews
"hot water beach"
in 17 reviews
"small group"
in 35 reviews
"day tour"
in 44 reviews
"great tour"
in 40 reviews
"eco tour"
in 12 reviews
"new zealand"
in 110 reviews
"driving creek railway"
in 7 reviews
"ginger beer"
in 9 reviews
Filter

574 - 578 of 603 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

My husband and I did the Coast and Rainforest Walk today, guided by the excellent Tony of Bush and Beach. The day was packed full of interesting information from Tony and two very good walks over beachland and in the rainforest. We also had several photo opportunities and lookout spots en route. The picnic lunch was good, as were the choice of venues. A day out not to be missed.

4  Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushandBeach, Front Office Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

Hi there,
Thank you for your response. We are so glad you had a great day out with Tony, he really does love showing off our beautiful corner of the world!
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Auckland.
Thanks again
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We did the Best of Both Worlds tour with Bush and Beach based on the reviews here and the advice of our travel agent who used to live in Auckland. We are happy we did. We did the morning tour of the main city area of Auckland with Tony and the afternoon bush and beach with Alan.

We were picked up at our hotel at exactly the scheduled 8:45 by Tony. Tony made the tour fun and kept it interesting. He had a bit of a challenge in another customer who could not stop talking and countering nearly every point of interest with something "better" they had seen or done. Tony handled the person very well all things considered.

The morning tour makes several nice stops, but the best was the visit to Mt. Victoria and the beach and ice cream place in Devonport. Based on the tour, the next day we revisited Viaduct Harbour for lunch a resturant Tony had pointed out and took a ferry over to Devonport.

At midday we switched to Alan for the bush and beach portion of the day. We went out through the Waitakere area to Karekare and Piha. First we stopped for lunch that we took to the Aritaki Visitors Center where we ate with a nice view of a reservoir and the forest aka bush. we left there and went to the nearby waterfall shown in my included photo.

Alan spent a fair amount of time showing us various trees and plants though the course of the afternoon. He was very knowledgable and clearly enjoys doing the tours. The tramp through the bush with the information about the trees and other plant life was a pleasant walk. Our favorite place had to be Piha Beach. The black sand was beautiful in the afternoon sun. With the tide receding the wet areas were just like a mirror offering some great photo ops. Another special place was a stop Alan threw in on the way back to the hotel. We went by the Rose Hellaby House at Waiatarua. The views are amazing and it was a great wrap-up to the day.

These tours are a geat way to see a lot of the Auckland area in a short amount of time. We only had four days so this was a perfect fit for us.

5  Thank PackerBacker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushandBeach, Front Office Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your day out with us and thank you also for showing your pictures. We live in a pretty amazing part of the world and our guides love showing it off!
All the best for your future travels.
Thanks again
Krystle
Operations Manager
Bush and Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The day was rainy, and this tour should show birds and the forest to us, so we were sceptical... But the guide loaded us with a lot of interesting information, showed to us amazing places and scenery, which looked great even under the poor visibility, so we could take video and photos without problems. Looking at the remaining 1000 year old trees, waterfall, violent beach was "something". The guide offered even rain coats, hot tea, to taste manuca honey and was considered in all aspects of the trip. Plus it is rather a unique trip between two oceans within 40 min of drive. Nice feeling of nature.

3  Thank ira2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushandBeach, Owner at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2010

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip. The great thing about the Waitakere Ranges is that even in the rain it is gorgeous! And it definitely impacts on the wild west coast beaches!
Thanks again
Krystle
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our guide Dawn was knowledgeable, fun, and adventurous. Our group of 4 completed the entire group, so we had our own personalized tour of the rainforests and beaches. Dawn took us to the visitor centre to take in the views, then we headed for our Bush walk in the re-constituted rainforests. We did a moderate hike to the bottom of a waterfall. It was incredible.

We had lunch on the blacksand beach of amazing sandwiches and delicious refreshments and biscuits. We climbed one of the huge rocks on the beach, Lion Rock after Dawn's recommendation of the views. Because our group was so small, we were ahead on time and we were able to add this in.

We then headed to the mature rainforest that blew me away. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the plants and history of the forest and the vegetation was incredible! It poured the entire time we walked through this portion of the forest, but Dawn provided rain jackets and it made the experience seem more genuine.

Overall, this is a must-do. I loved every minute of the entire day. Two thumbs up!

2  Thank xtinababaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushandBeach, Owner at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

We're so glad you enjoyed your day with us. We agree that everyone who comes to Auckland should stand on one of our beautiful west coast beaches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush and Beach also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Bush and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing