We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitakere/Piha tour was excellent”
Review of Bush and Beach

Bush and Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bush and Beach is Auckland's premier small-group tour company. Daily award-winning tours take you to Auckland's coastal rain forest, wild black sand beaches, untamed Great Barrier Island, Coromandel Peninsula, Hobbiton and Waitomo area. Our experienced guides provide an interactive, unforgettable experience, including walks in lush rainforest, on awe-inspiring surf beaches, to lush wetlands and beautiful waterfalls.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this half day tour through some spectacular scenery. Well organised and guided by Wayne who had a very good knowledge of the eco system. We learnt a lot and saw some wonderful sights. We combined it with a half day city tour which was nowhere near as interesting. If I were going to do it again, I would look for a full day tour out to the west and skip the city bit.

2  Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your very positive review of our Widlerness Experence. We are very proud of this hidden part of Auckland (lush rainforests and black sand beaches less than one hour from the city) and are thrilled that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hobbiton tour"
in 71 reviews
"wilderness experience"
in 34 reviews
"best of both worlds"
in 31 reviews
"rainforest walk"
in 24 reviews
"express tour"
in 20 reviews
"waitakere ranges"
in 41 reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 19 reviews
"movie set"
in 19 reviews
"green dragon"
in 24 reviews
"hot water beach"
in 17 reviews
"small group"
in 35 reviews
"day tour"
in 44 reviews
"great tour"
in 40 reviews
"eco tour"
in 12 reviews
"new zealand"
in 110 reviews
"driving creek railway"
in 7 reviews
"ginger beer"
in 9 reviews
Filter

513 - 517 of 603 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I did the Hobbiton day tour back in november. The driver picked us up at our hotel and we went on a 2h30 trip to Mata Mata. The views along the way are fascinating and our driver was very entertaining. He gave us informations about Auckland's history and even recommended a few pubs. I just thought that the Hobbiton tour itself was too short and we didn't have enough time to take photos but the guide was a lot of fun telling all kinds of stories about crazy LOTR fans. Unfortunately the Green Dragon wasn't open so we just saw it from the outside. Lunch was good as well. Overall it was a great day, even though it was a little expensive.

1  Thank Olguits_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Olguits, thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hobbiton Express tour. Unfortunately the Green Dragon Inn had not been opened when you visited in November as it was still being finished in time for The Hobbit premiere. The Green Dragon is now open to all guests so if you are ever back in Auckland, please drop us a line as we would be delighted to show it to you. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our first stop on the tour was Mills Bakery for our first ever meat pie! We knew then it would be a good day. We took a half day tour, so it was a little fast paced but you get to see so much in so little. The tour guides weren't the high energy type I expected but they were laid back and told some good stories, so I didn't mind. Loved the mini nature walks, waterfall, black sand beach, and chatting with new acquaintances!

1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrystleBT, Front Office Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of the Wilderness Experience tour. The humble meat pie is a kiwi classic and a must for anyone travelling to New Zealand - the Mill Bakehouse make some of the best!
The Wilderness Experience is a great way to see several areas of the Waitakere Ranges in a short time with several stops.

I am glad you enjoyed your afternoon out with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went on the Hobbiton trip, which featured an air-conditioned coach ride from our hotel doorstep to the the Hobbiton site, which was about 2 and half to 3 hours from Auckland CBD. Along the way, our guide (a very nice fellow named Wayne) told plenty anecdotal stories, pointed out various sites, and answered all our questions to keep us amused.

Hobbiton itself featured a very indepth tour - the guide we had at Hobbiton was quite friendly, he helped everyone take photos when we pretended to be Hobbits. He also gave good trivia knowledge that would even fascinate the most hardcore Lord of the Rings fans.

The trip also included a 10 dollar credit at the Hobbiton store, and lunch at the cafe (which had once been a sheepshack!)

Overall, it was a great day out, and a wonderful experience getting to Hobbiton, at the site itself and coming back. Bush and beach will get you 'there and back again' in a fun and amusing way.

Prices for three of us (adults) were $265 NZD per person.

2  Thank eugoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Sopanna, Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Hobbiton Express tour in December. The guys have done an amazing job down on the set and the response has been phenomenal, especially now that the Green Dragon Inn is open. Also great that you enjoyed Wayne's anecdotal stories. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Coromandel trip involved a lovely drive up the coast from Thames to Coromandel. It is quite a long trip, several hours, with great scenery and interesting stops along the way. We visited the Driving Creek Railroad with the view from the Eyeful Tower at the top. We went over the 309 Highway to the huge Kauri trees then on to Hot Water Beach where the hot water comes up through the sand. (We actually weren't able to sit in the hot sand the day we went, as the tide was too high.) We had a nice lunch at the Hot Waves Cafe/Gallery then a lovely walk down to Cathedral Cove where some of the Chronicles of Narnia were filmed.
Wayne was our driver/tour guide and he was great. He is extremely knowledgeable about pretty much everything. He loves his country, and is very excited to share it with visitors.
We loved this trip, and I would highly recommend it.

1  Thank rajalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Coromandel Day Tour withj Wayne. Most overseas visitors who want a full day tour from Auckland choose the Bay of Islands, Rotorua or Waitomo. The Coromandel Peninula by comparison is a real hidden gem. Glad that you enjoyed Wayne's commentary too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush and Beach also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Bush and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing