We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$252
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$181
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$116
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$131
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$138
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$116
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$103
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$193
$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
235
245
62
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
245
62
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvincent streetsingle roomshared kitchenown bathroomsky towercommon roombudget accommodationnice kitchenrooms are smalla lot of noisecommunal areasmini fridgelaundry facilitiesgreat place to staystay there againaotea squaretea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 561 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good location! This place is advertised as a flash backpackers which it is but it is also a very expansive backpackers. Room was good but very small. Only thing I didn't like was the fact the that there were no duvet covers. There were sheets tho. I would usually pay a little bit more and get a lot more but it was good for what you paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaK214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Not sure about the missing duvet cover? All our beds come with a fitted continental blanket, sheets and a spare blanket in the wardrobe. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Auckland. Best regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first time in Auckland and we were recommended this lodge by my mother in law. The location is perfect, especially if you want to be close to K Road and the city. It only takes about 10 mins to walk to the CBD. The staff were really lovely and friendly. And as a bonus there's space to park for luggage drop offs.

The rooms are a good size for 2 people with a spacious bathroom but poor shower pressure. We had a great out the window towards the city. The bed was really comfy and the TV reception good. My boyfriend enjoyed the plunger coffee.

Negative is the lift is SUPER slow!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to complete survey. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Cheers Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the City Lodge in Auckland for my first trip to the city. It was absolutely perfect for a couple of nights and as a base for exploring the city. It was spotlessly clean with a great comfy bed, sky tv, plenty of choice for drinks, herbal and black tea, hot chocolate and coffee, even filter coffee with a cafetierre thingy for those who drink coffee. There's a fridge in the room which is great if you wish to use the cooking faculties, there is a shared kitchen - I didn't use this due to my short stay, but it's a great option for those on a budget. I booked my queensize room through one of the isite places who are great for getting deals, it was just €99 a night for a really beautiful room with en suite, luxury bed linen and a wonderful view over the city!! All In all a really great place to stay

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the beds have just been replaced and yip very comfortable. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Auckland. Many thanks Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The location of the hotel is very good. It's walking distance to the Harbor, Ferry boats Tower, restaurants, bars, stores, public transportation....

The room is not big but comfortable for one person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_FERNANDES0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi, thanks for sharing your feedback. We do have a variety of rooms available we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Check in staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. Location is just a few minuets walk to the main town centre. Bed was comfortable but pillows were a little hard. Room was hot, but their was a fan in the wardrobe so that made it better. Fridge in room was good, but it took us a while to work out how to turn the thing on! Big TV in room with lots of channels. Bathroom was great with good working shower. Rooms were quiet apart from on our last morning there seemed to be someone moving furniture around in the room above us, as their was lots of scraping noises. But we were already up so didn't bother us. Wifi worked really well and is fairly cheap for NZ! Kitchen is plenty big with everything you could need to cook. Laundry was cheaper than most places, although we had to use the tumble dryer twice as it didn't dry our stuff the first time round. Plenty of little extras like free hand soap, Eco washing up liquid and Eco detergent for laundry. Also free hand sanitiser and sunscreen by the doors too! Also got a little newsletter about what was on in the area on our first morning which was nice. Reason not 5 rating is because when we came out the lift onto our floor there was a really bad smell which was always there and wasn't present at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, the free screen is great and we have a lot of guests use it. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews