We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in October. We are a group of Three 21 year old girls. Lovely rooms very clean and nice! Fresh towels every day. In an okay location for Auckland City but not much to do at all around the hotel! Was quite boring so wouldn't recommend for young people looking to go out. Wifi is an absolute rip off!! One free voucher that lasts about 10 seconds so I paid $3 for 200mb which apparently I somehow used in one night after being on for half an hour!! You should offer wifi for free as it's much more of an attraction for backpackers! Krishna was lovely and really happy to help, couldn't say the same for Tina however who shrugged off most of our questions! Overall it is a nice hotel but not for young people looking for stuff to do

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback. While we do not provide a bar on site guests are welcome to enjoy drinks in the lounge, dining and outdoor seating area. City Lodge is located close to a large variety of night life from K Road well known for its diverse and creative culture and eclectic mix of cafes, boutique shops and nightlife to the Viaduct basin a first class residential, commercial and entertainment precinct right by the water’s edge. Our staff can advise some of the best places to go and enjoy. Thanks for the comment about Krishna, he is a great guy who really enjoys working in the hospitality industry. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved our stay in the city lodge! The room and facilities were immaculate and staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were really comfy and nice showers too. We couldn't believe how much we got for our money with this place and were sad we couldn't stay longer. The Only down side was the noise from the main roads. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for the feedback, we just finished our bed replacement program in August 2013 great to hear you enjoyed your sleep. Happy holiday season, Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our original accommodation didn't go to plan, so we had to find accommodation quickly. We stumbled upon City Lodge where we were greeted by friendly staff. We found the stay comfortable and clean and the cost was cheap. I would definitely think about staying there again if I travelled to Auckland again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback, we hope to see you again when next in Auckland, Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I learned during our trip the difference (generally) between a lodge and a hostel. A lodge has private rooms and common lounge/kitchen. A hostel has dorm rooms and may also have private rooms.

City Lodge is as everyone says, clean, comfortable, centrally located and with a great staff. The staff helped us book a bus tour and taxi. They served us coffee while we waited for the bus.

The kitchen is fantastic.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us at City Lodge. We truly enjoy meeting visitors from around the world and want everyone to leave City Lodge with a great sense of Kiwi Hospitality. We hope to see you again in the future, kindest regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My stay there was wonderful. The rooms are small but clean and lovely. A great kitchen kitchen to meet people or cook for friends. The hotel is 5 min from queenstreet. The staff is friendly and very kind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timstruppi0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments City Lodge. We know it is important to share feedback with others allowing potential guests to make an informed decision on where to stay. We try hard to exceed our guest expectations and always look forward to receiving feedback, kindest regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A real gem of a place for value for money, cleanliness and your own room.
Right in the heart of Auckland city. Parking available for extra. Kitchen facilities were modern, accessible and clean. Customer service is excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraxnDax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. City Lodge is perfect for cost effective accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. With a private en-suite in every room, new flat screen TV and recently upgraded bedding we also agree that City Lodge is great value for money. Best regards and thanks again for your feedback. Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Very central to CBD with lots of information available. Its most outstanding feature is the staff who round the clock provide friendly helpful service. Would definitely be back again. Brilliant facilities extremely clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for your comments about the staff, they try really hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We hope to see you again on your next travels to Auckland. Best regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $56 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing