We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for almost 6 weeks when in NZ - absolutely excellent service, good value and convenient location (easy walk to central Auckland). Staff always incredibly helpful in advising about Auckland and allowed me to check out for a period to do some travelling. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback with others on trip advisor, we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    212
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
156
157
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

had 1 night stay with them. the place location is not bad(which we took about 15-20mins)to walk to the main city and to verdict there.
- the room is simple and nice(with a mini fridge , coffee table and a toilet.
Dislikes -->the main thing is that the room is very very hot, even i open the 2 small windows(which can open to a small hole(that is the max i can open). it is still very hot. As the bed is not beside the window(the bed is at the other corner), me and my husband couldnt sleep well due to the room is very hot. (there is no aircon).

- parking need to pay another Nz15 then they will give a slot at their own parking area.
** I dont think i will go to the place again unless there is a aircon or bed alocated beside the window.
But otherwise other facilities and service are good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to complete your survey. We understand it can be difficult to sleep when the weather is hot. We do provide our guests with portable fans for the rooms which can be ordered from reception. We are pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great find in central Auckland. My sister and I stayed for three nights and we were very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms were clean and comfortable, it was a great location (we walked everywhere), the staff was friendly, and it was a very reasonable rate to boot. Only downside- no air conditioning, but the weather wasn't too hot so it was nothing we couldn't deal with. Overall, we had a really great stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future, Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff were very helpful, even when checking in at 03:30 am. It's location is near bus stops and walking distance to the main CBD streets. Bit warm in the rooms, but reception did have fans for use on request. After reading the guest information in the room& the 2 pages on their contribution to the environment, this is perfectly understandable. A little noisy in the rooms even from the 5th floor, but not enough to keep me awake. I Would definatly recommend this hotel & will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsmithaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I will supply your feedback to the night crew, we are very pleased to hear that our high standard of service is provided at all hours of the operation. I hope you enjoyed your holiday while in Auckland and look forward to meeting you during a return trip. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you leave you daughter to book the room for the night you could end up in a backpackers hostel and at £75 all in for 3 of us in a city centre you can only fear the worst. Well what a pleasant surprise, very clean though not over spacious but I've stayed in London Hotels 3 time the price with less room. Flat screen telly, tea and coffee making on suite shower and toilet and a communal kitchen in the basement large enough to cater for a royal wedding. All this right in the heart of the city. As an Old Codger that likes the finer things this was an eye opener and has put Backpackers firmly on my to do list. Wish I'd known we could leave suitcases there for a few days then I would have had to cart them over to Waiheke Island. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIwasYoungagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Please pass on my thanks to your daughter for selecting our great property. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Backpacking can be so much fun so long as you have the finer things available such as a private bathroom and other goodies. We hope to see you again in the future, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

room was nice, clean, staff did daily refresh giving the stay more of a hotel feel rather than a 'budget' feel. the only issue was no air con so had to keep the window open resulting in street noise. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback with our like minded travelers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at City Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very clean and great location, walking distance to Downtown, Ponsonby, etc. Reception and staff are very helpful and competent. Lower rooms near the road are a bit noisy, but it is downtown! I appreciate the effort to be green.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road and at least 3 stories up are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_Kunzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi and thanks for your feedback, we also believe City Lodge is great value for money and the prefect location. I hope you enjoyed your holiday while in Auckland, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing