We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great : )”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Just Great : )”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Got the Superior Queen Ensuite room, super clean and nice room. Downstairs common area with kitchen is really unexpectedly well done. And to top it off the staff is awesome, will be staying here in the future for sure

Room Tip: If your a couple the deluxe ensuite is great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff at City Lodge. I always share feedback with the team and I know they will be very proud to read yours. Best wishes for the holiday season ahead, kindest regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    225
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
166
166
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After a one year absence, I returned to the Lodge several months ago. I was very warmly welcomed back by everyone who greeted me personally and have continued to be respectful, polite and helpful. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Rooms towards to harbour bridge are lighter because of the sun direction. Rooms on level 9 have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We always enjoy seeing our regular guests return to City Lodge. If we can provide any additional services that would make your stay even better just let us know. Best wishes for the coming festive season, Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

City Lodge is an excellent hostel and it really is more like a hotel in the quality of its rooms. Everthing is spotless including the kitchen, which has everything you need. The staff are first rate and very helpful. They have the best environmentlal policies that I've seen anywhere - bins for recycling, a worm farm for organic material, etc and free sun screen at all entrances. The staff even do regular clean-ups and plantings in nearby parks. With all this, their rates are extremely good value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
As a team we always enjoy getting out into the neighborhood and helping to keep it tidy... plus the drinks afterwards never goes a miss. Thanks for your feedback and best wishes for the coming holiday season, Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Auckland accommodation is more like a Hotel than a backpackers! Very clean and tidy, great customer service, and all the facilities there that you need. City Lodge is in a nice quiet central location...easy walking distance to everything. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, we also believe City Lodge is great value for money and we try hard to exceed our guest’s expectations. Best wishes for the holiday season, Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent 6 nights here, the first 3 as part of a group and the last three alone! My room was more than adequate and very clean, but the wonderful staff really impressed me. Nothing was too much trouble.
The common room was very clean and well supplied.
City lodge is very close to all the shows and i found many and varied places to eat close by.

Thank you again to all the staff!
I will be back, hopefully soon
Thank you

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time taken. I will pass on your comments to the team. Best wishes Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The first impression was good. There is a limited parking space in the back which costs NZD 15 per day. The room was clean but the toilet was small. City Lodge locates in a good location, about 15 minutes walk to Sky Tower. We did not find a place to eat in the area but there is a convenient store opposite the hostel. The kitchen facilities were good.

The bad part is the room has very bad sound proofing wall and door. We could hear a man coughing in the next room. On the night that we stayed (03 Nov 2012), we heard a lot of noise from the other rooms and people came out and talked in the hallway until late. Although we were on the 8th floor with windows shut, we still could hear the street noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am sorry to hear about the noise coming from other guests. We ask our night receptionist to walk the hallways checking for excessive noise. I understand how frustrating this can be when you are trying to sleep.

I hope we will see you again on your next trip to Auckland, best wishes for the coming festive season. Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

City Lodge feels more like a nice hotel than hostel. Our room was very modern and clean, with an en-suite and fridge. The kitchen area was clean and well equipped.

It's a 10 minute walk from the Intercity bus stop. It only has a small car park, so watch out if driving.

The location is great for exploring everything Auckland has to offer.

They did take a $70 payment in case of any damage to the room when we checked in, which was unexpected. But we were refunded the amount at check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmp90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We truly value the time our guests take to place their feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We are very proud of City Lodge it's great value for money.

I will ensure your comments are posted on the staff notice board.

Best regards and hope we see you again. Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing