We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge
Nearby Hotels
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
$205
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
$170
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$157
$124
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$127
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$126
$109
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$154
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$158
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$212
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
231
242
62
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
242
62
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvincent streetsingle roomshared kitchenown bathroomsky towercommon roombudget accommodationnice kitchenrooms are smalla lot of noisecommunal areasmini fridgelaundry facilitiesgreat place to staystay there againaotea squaretea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 554 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was discriminated against at City Lodge by the manager. He did not treat me fairly or even abide by the rules of the hotel. I would suggest people of any other ethnicity then european stay away. This is the only hostel I have been treated this way. I see there is another comment about racism further down the list of reviews. The manager Glen was rude and made assumptions about me that were not correct and then really wasnt interested in listening tho what I had to say. I wont be returning and suggest people look elsewhere.

The rest of the staff were inconsisitent with some people being excellent and others rude and uncaring. The rooms are tidy, overpriced, and noisy. The mattresses are uncomfortable, the tvs small, and the wifi extremely expensive. All this pales in comparison to the manager who was rude from the first time I saw him.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CookIslandsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

At City Lodge our policy is to treat each of our guests with the utmost respect and I am disappointed you did not feel you were treated as such on this occasion. Remarks about racism are taken very seriously, and I would appreciate the opportunity to talk to you and try resolve the issue in person. Without knowing the details of events which led to your dissatisfaction and assumption of racist attitudes, I can say without a doubt, no guest has ever been discriminated against because of ethnicity or gender. Your comment has deeply offended our staff who are multicultural, and do their utmost to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. Hosting guests from around the world and being part of the wonderful memories of NZ when they leave our shores is a job we take very seriously. I hope you will allow me the opportunity to talk to you about this, please contact me via the City lodge info details on our website. Sincerely Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Room was good with the mini fridge, clean bath room, but the only thing the the bed, its sagging and the double Decker(we stay in triple room with a double deck of queen bottom and single top) are making noise whenever we turn our body. End up one of us have to move the mattress on the floor so that three of us can get a good night sleep.
The Indian male reception was very helpful with helping us to book the Sky tower dinner as well as the taxi to airport. Which when we reported the heater were not function properly the first night, the lady reception just replied " this is not my job" and then continue working with her computer. Later in the morning only we found out from the Indian Male reception that the heater were central controlled, so it will off sometime middle of night(can't recall what hour). on the second night stay there were no towel and floor mat supplied to room, so I went downstairs to get it, but no one were at the reception, been yelling "hello" for 10 minutes then decided to knock on the staff's room door. Even that it took like another 10 minutes for the lady reception to come out(hopefully she was not sleeping because its only 8pm) then she just doubtfully ask whether i put the "do not disturb" sign outside the door. Then I told her "if I put that sign, how would all our 3 old towel in my room missing and my bed was made up?" : ) Anyway, its a nice stay with quite good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I would like to offer my apologies for the bed discomfort experienced. I have asked house keeping to check the mattress and bed base to see if it requires replacement. In regards to the female staff member she is no longer employed by City Lodge. I hope we have the opportunity to provide our services to you in the future. Providing us with feedback ensures we make improvements in the product and services provided. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked this 24hrs before arrival - one night in a twin room with ensuite via hostelworld.com. No problems with our booking. The staff were very helpful and cheerful on arrival, whilst trying to plan our evening and on leaving the following morning. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. It is in a great location, 15mins walk from the waterfront, 5 mins walk into town and near to other areas in Auckland. The parking is expensive but there are cheaper or free options available off site as explained to us on arrival. We would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments about City Lodge. We value our guest feedback and I will share amongst the team. Many thanks Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed in a single room which contained a single sized bed with self contained bathroom. 4 nights.

The good: adequate sized room that was clean. Self contained bathroom. supposedly 24/7 reception. basement with 2 coin operated internet machines as well as a very comprehensive kitchen. mini fridge in my room. Good housekeeping. Good location near enough to the city but also very near k street. Curfew times means not much noise within the hotel during sleeping hours.

The bad: Dear god the bed. It was a single bed but that wasn't the issue. There was so much sag on the edge of the bed it felt i was going to roll off the mattress. Eventually turned it over the 2nd night and it was flat. Sheeting wasn't long enough either so easily got untucked. The windows look soundproof but definitely aren't even close. Bar fridge is definitely way too noisy. (Hint: turn it off if you don't need it and want to sleep better)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredThriftyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hi and thanks for the feedback about your stay. If at all possible please let me know the room number as we replaced all our single beds in Dec 2010 with brand new Sleepmaker commerical beds. There shoud be no reason for the sagging so I would like to review and if required place a warranty claim. We are truly sorry for this inconvenience and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is the best way to start off a long term backpacking trip. You get your own room ensuite with all the amenities like kitchen, wi-fi, laundry etc. for a very good price. The staff were very helpful and the location is pretty good for getting around Auckland city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, yes we agree and think our location is great as well. Our staff really care and enjoy helping people. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Best regards Glenn Gairdner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews