We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel
Ranked #39 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“I loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

I was shocked at the negative reviews on here. This turned out to be my favorite hotel I stayed at on my Australia-New Zealand vacation. I got a studio apartment and I loved it the moment I walked in the door. It's all very new and modern, and not overpriced at all. It's apparent that a professional designer chose the colors and textures, because it all goes together well. I would recommend this place for those who value aesthetics but don't want to pay a fortune. It has full apartment equipment, including a combination washer-dryer right in the apartment. There was a two-burner slicktop hotplate, pots and pans, etc. My room had a view, but of nothing that special. You probably have to pay a higher rate to get the views of the city. I used the gym, and the equipment was very basic. There were about 3-4 cardio machines, and a universal station with weights. The pool isn't very big, but it's OK. Right across the street is a cheap internet place, and a little down to the left there's a healthy restaurant called Revive that I highly recommend. The location couldn't be better. You are right in the middle of the city, but on a quiet side street with no traffic noise.

  • Liked — Modern feel to the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

This apartment complex is in an excellent location, is well appointed and offers pool, sauna and gym (if you get round to using them.) Parking has to be booked - important - but you will pay an extra $20 on your bill. This is the standard 'gouge' by most hotels and apartments in the CBD.

When we opened the door, our disappointment was palpable. The 'one bedroom' apartments (really a studio with sliding door) was miniscule around 25 sqm. Certainly not representative of the photographs on the website.

The view was appalling - Obviously if you tell people that they will be looking out onto the blank wall of the building next door, almost 2 meters from the balcony, they may not want to rent the place. This is surreal. No view of the sky, or street.

This is a decent hotel room, but not an apartment.

Only 2 bedroom aprtmnts and executive aprtmnts have views.

Sorely disappointed

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very Small - with a view of a brick wall!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Great central location, modern, nicely furnished, well-equipped apartments, and we enjoyed the pool (not heated during summer - so was slightly on the chilly side) but, but, but ....NO AIR-CON!
Auckland gets steamy and muggy during warmer months and being in the central CBD it was way too noisy at night to have windows open, so we baked, despite the one fan our apartment had.

Also, there's no way I would recommend these apartments to families with pre-school kids - we were on the 24th floor and the glass balconies gave us the heeby-jeebies whenever our kids went near them - and they're 5 and 8!.

One last "but" - the car park in the apartment building involves reversing your car into a "car elevator" - the kids thought it was cool, but its a tight fit and if you are driving anything larger than a compact it would be tricky!

  • Liked — location/views
  • Disliked — no air con
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

The Centr@l Precinct Apartment hotel is a modern tower block in a very convenient downtown location on Lorne Street close to the junction with Victoria Street. From our balcony on the 26th floor we had stunning views of the CBD skyline, and across Albert Park.

Our spacious "executive" apartment consisted of a long living room with sofa, TV and kitchen facilities, a bedroom, bathroom with shower and a small office room which we used to store our suitcases. The large flat screen TV had all the main satellite channels, with perfect reception. There was also a CD player. As well as a microwave and cooking utensils we were amazed to find a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer - all new and working perfectly. The shower was excellent, too. Although the centre of Auckland can be noisy at night, the apartment was well soundproofed.

The only problem we had during our three-night stay was a missing sink plug, but the efficient reception staff had one sent to our room within minutes.

Lorne Street is a pleasant side street with several good cafes virtually on the doorstep. The Airbus, City Circuit and Link buses stop close by. If you're going to the Airbus stop on Queen Street, you can take a useful short cut through Dimmocks bookshop. The apartments have a car park entered from Kitchener Street, for which a charge is made.

The Centr@l truly exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great standard of accommodation and excellent location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We booked 2 executive suites through wotif, at NZ$155 per room. Our rooms were on floors 25 and 26. They were very roomy, with huge kitchen/dining area, good size bedroom,bathroom and seperate study. Both rooms were slightly different layout. The balconies were huge and looked out towards the harbour and islands. Our children (17,16 and 14) enjoyed the lap pool and gym facilities. Reception staff were very helpful. Went to Little Italy restaurant, short walk away for very good meal. Would def stay here again, as location was great and rooms were well equipped.

  • Liked — Location, lap pool (after long flight from London, ideal for winding down).
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Getaway39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We stayed three nights in the Centr@l Precinct hotel in early March. We chose it because it was cheap and new. They had just opened, indeed beyond the attractive foyer, the lifts were still unfinished (working, but still unlined!). Our room was a superior studio (room 1205). It had a small kitchen area including washing machine etc, sink and fridge, and a few brand-new pieces of cookware, and the tiniest closet I've ever seen. It also had a large balcony, with a view across from the back of the hotel towards the Metropolis, with Albert Park on the right. I thought we'd be high enough on the 12th floor not to have too much noise - and indeed it was fine with the balcony door closed, but if you opened it you had to shout to make yourself heard! So we didn't spend much time on the balcony, despite the fact it was the only place to eat, as it had table and chairs.

Bathroom was fine, shower had good water pressure, only complaint would be space. Only way to get two people in the bathroom would be for one to be in the shower. We had floorspace to lay down one suitcase, but might have struggled if we had two.

Biggest problem with the room was there was no airconditioning. Auckland is too warm for this to be pleasant, and it gave us a choice of baking or opening the balcony door with accompanying traffic racket. We couldn't even leave the ventilation on in the bathroom to help, as the switch for this also turned on the heated towel rail! Also there was only a tiny bin in the bathroom, nothing in the kitchen area or bedroom, so we ended up leaving rubbish in the sink.

To sum up - convenient location, but small unairconditioned rooms, will lose any attraction once no longer new.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLetterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
#19 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Hobson
Quest on Hobson
#23 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#57 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel

Property: Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel
Address: Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel 6 Lorne Street | Auckland City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Hotel Class:4 star — Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centr@l Precinct Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing