We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a Queen Street room”
Review of Quest on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Queen
Ranked #56 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get a Queen Street room”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location on lower Queen Street. Close to the ferries & train station.
Very helpful, friendly & professional staff. Helped me secure parking for my visit.
Room was a good size, clean, tidy & well equipped.
Sadly all these positives are over shadowed by the noise from a neighbouring club which ensured I only got about 3 to 4 hours sleep on my two night stay. Have stayed in a neighbouring hotel which had double glazing, I believe this would help.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room over looking Queen Street to minimize the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    45
    23
    27
See reviews for
19
92
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice apartment room and suited the occasion perfectly. However, we were paddling in water in the morning due to an extreme leak from the toilet. in the bathroom and kitchen area. We didn't use the shower to freshen up because of this and left early. It would be nice to get free accommodation for another weekend sometime in lieu of this serious issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Royleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception62, Manager at Quest on Queen, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us. Can you please contact me on 09 300 2500 or manager@questonqueen.co.nz so we can discuss this further. This is not the usual standard of our apartments and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Made me wait outside for ages because they denied I had a booking. They asked me to settle the bill which I did then told me I hadn't paid the full amount and asked me to pay again. I emailed to complain and they denied that they had overcharged me. When i could provide credit card evidence they finally admitted they were in the wrong and promised to refund me. Still awaiting the refund.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degsons10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception62, Manager at Quest on Queen, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Good Morning, I am sorry for this inconvenience, Can you please contact me at manager@questonqueen.co.nz or 09 300 2500 so I can get this issue sorted for you. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quest on Queen street has excellent front desk service when you check in. The girls at the front desk are so nice and helpful, especially Rachel. That's one of the reasons I keep coming back. My most recent stay was July 2013- It's a Great Central Location, easy walk to downtown Auckland, it's easy driving route over the Harbour Bridge to Northshore and/or any of the motorway on ramps to West or South Auckland as well. The studio rooms with kitchenette, are clean and tidy with complimentary breakfast provisions. I love that the room/apartments have their own laundry facility ( washing machine and dryer), I am so busy during the day away from the hotel that it's nice to be able to come back to my room and do my laundry privately and not have to walk down the corridor to the guest shared laundry room and check for the next available washing machine or dryer as most hotel chains seem to provide. The free parking is also a bonus, it's a tight squeeze, not a lot of room to manauever if you have a big vehicle (I have a AWD Ford Territory) But if you take your time, be patient you'll fit your vehicle into a parking space. This is my third stay here in less than 12 months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi girl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location, I've stayed here a few times, the rooms are a good size, just a little dated. The on-site restaurant is fantastic and the dinner meals I had bought to my room were 'up there' with top restaurants, I was very impressed.

Room Tip: Don't go out for dinner, stay in and order room service from the on-site restaurant, you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZRayW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great central location. Our apartment was above a popular pub, but the noise was minimal with closed doors and drawn heavy drapes.( Earplugs were supplied for noise-sensitive guests). The attention to detail in our apartment was faultless .. plunger coffee and chocolate biscuits in addition to the normal hotel consumables. Free wifi and free morning paper from reception, but no breakfast provisions as described in other reviews. The apartment was compact but it was immaculate and fantastically equipped with large modern fridge/freezer, full cooking facilities, and comfortable living area. We had to pay $22.50 a night extra for off-site nearby parking, but we paid only $104 a night for the apartment on a special offer, so this was all-up a bargain for the location and quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Central downtown with free car park. Clean studio apartment with kitchenette and breakfast provisions provided. Very convenient to walking central Auckland. So much to do and see and many free entertainment events while we were there in the parks and museums. Great French restaurant just across the street from the hotel.The front desk staff was uniformly polite and helpful with all having a good sense of humor. Free loocal newspapers and an onsite bar restaurant for those interested. Being New Yorkers, we appreciated the cleanliness of Auckland and the helpfulness of the citizens. Had a great time and would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Queen

Property: Quest on Queen
Address: 62 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest on Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing