We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Porter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Porter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Friendly Hotel, but its a porter by the name of Dickey that makes you feel welcome, special and important.
He is prompt courteous and very friendly......we need more Dickey's I feel, better make him in charge of that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackj2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, General Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Jackj2502,

I will make sure I pass your feedback onto Dickey, he sure does have an amazing ability to connect with people from all over the world.

I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you next require accommodation in the Auckland.

Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    668
    218
    46
    39
See reviews for
255
761
106
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ill keep it simple, if you are looking for a good value hotel in Auckland CBD then book here now....

The rooms are nice and relaxing, the location is great, service is excellent and the Casino is just downstairs!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, General Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Good Morning Kiwibawse,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you far taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I hope you had a truly fantastic time down here in NZ.

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for business - accomodation booked by the corporate - amazing. Huge room, beautiful facilities, bathroom was massive, hotel was quiet and everything perfect down to a tee.
Staying again and again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Afternoon Mike,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; we look forward to hosting your accommodation for many business trips to come.

Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

value for money, Excellent cleanliness, service and bed. Breakfast was excellent. The room was big, the king size bed really comfortable, and I really appreciated the free wifi. We definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Noel,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; the team take great pride in the service and product we have and offer here at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad we met your expectations on this stay.


Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice hotel with a city center location right by the skycity tower, found the the room to be large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, including direct access (from reception area) to a large casino if thats of interest, Shower curtain in need of replacement and leave out a notice if you require the room to be serviced. Once again concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Steve,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; the team take great pride in the service and product we have and offer here at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad we met your expectations on this stay.


Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Skycity Hotel while attending business meetings and a conference at the hotel.

The room was large, the bed really comfortable, and I really appreciated the free wifi.

The room servicing was to a high standard, and the room was kept clean. I never had much interaction with staff as I was at the conference all day and then at evening social functions. The checkin and checkout staff were friendly and efficient, and the concierge staff helpful with getting taxis.

I enjoyed my stay at the SkyCity. They are upgrading the lifts at the moment with one out of service, and this was the only frustration, as a result I often ended up waiting a while for the lift

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

In relation to the lift feedback I can confirm that the lift in question has 2 weeks left before its upgrade is complete. We have tried to allocate times that would least impact our guests but on a few periods of demand the work has increased the waiting time.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We find this hotel very comfortable, i.e. the beds are exceptionally good, the air conditioning is efficient and easy to adjust and ensures comfort day and night. We like the great choice of bars, restaurants and cafes ,and the entertainment, the very friendly helpful staff everywhere and the easy accessible car parking. The location is perfect. We have stayed there many times and would not consider looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher up away from ongoing road works in outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chemnitz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Good Morning chemnitz44,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing