We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great location, very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

All in all, I was very satisfied spending two nights in this hotel right after landing in Auckland. The room was large and clean, and the location is great. The variety of restaurants and the proximity to the Skycity tower (as well as to many of the city's attractions) are also a plus.
I was somewhat disappointed by the Internet connection speed (both wired and wireless), which made it pretty unusable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Assaf,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel. I am thrilled you were happy with your hotel room and central location right below the iconic Sky Tower.

I am disappointed to read about the issues you had with the internet connection throughout your stay. I welcome you to contact me directly with details of your stay so I may investigate this further with our IT team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    721
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
275
819
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Partner & I have stayed twice, 4 days & 7 days. Professional staff; always helpful. Stayed in a studio off the courtyard. As a smoker, I was annoyed people were using saucers as ashtrays. Noticed a lot of butts on the ground. Ashtrays were provided but not by the outside furniture by the rooms. Staff did try to keep on top of this. Acknowledgement to the room cleaning staff, they did a great job of the rooms, friendly & helpful. I made our bed & they re made it, lol, well done. Would suggest tea towels for the studio units, had to use flannels to dry my dishes & wipe the benches. Over all, still worth 5 stars. Have recommended to family, friends & colleagues. See you again SkyCity in June & November 2014.

Room Tip: Loved the courtyard studio's, opened the doors, a/c not always needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Zep,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel. My team and I are thrilled you had a wonderful stay and experience at SKYCITY, the heart of entertainment in Auckland.

Our courtyard accessible rooms are very popular with our guests and I am pleased you took advantage of these rooms. I apologise for the lack of ash trays on the outdoor furniture and I have shared your comments with our management team for review.

Here at SKYCITY Hotel, we have a very efficient and meticulous housekeeping team who were pleased to receive your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in June & November later this year.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Skycity hotel in Auckland is very well placed, beautifully appointed and was perfect for our three night stay. However, we paid extra for a harbour view and there is no way that room could be called a harbour view. We could just see the tops of boats way out in the distance but it was not the view we had dreamed of relaxing and watching.
Our room was large, the bed very comfortable and although not a view of the harbour the view was nonetheless good to look at.
Breakfast was a huge disappointment. Food was at best luke warm and not very exciting.
Generally staff were not particularly helpful with the exception of the porter that helped us to get out luggage some distance from the front door due to road works.
I would stay here again for the location is excellent

Room Tip: Really make sure you are getting a harbour view before you pay for one. Im not actually sure a harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear LynSJB,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. We definitely have one of the best locations in town and I am thrilled this enhanced your stay.

I am disappointed that our harbour view did not meet your expectation, however, due to the location of our hotel, the harbour is somewhat distant but in view nevertheless. Please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory breakfast experience and rest assured, I have shared your comments with the restaurant manager who is investigating the points raised to ensure this is prevented in the future.

Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and I am pleased the porter who assisted with your luggage demonstrated this, however, I apologise for your general experience with other staff members. Rest assured, further training has been implemented to ensure your experience is not repeated. I welcome you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your experience or future reservations in further detail.

Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Not a fabulous check-in. The clerk was a bit airy fairy about the self-parking. Should have given us a ticket to use to get out. Said he was really busy but we were only one of two couples. The room was lovely and clean, but the carpet in the hallways was stained, the TV reception was terrible as were the programs. The king bed was fabulous and comfortable. Nice crispy clean sheets. No real milk for our coffee and tea. No complaints about the room service. It was serviced beautifuuly.
We got the feeling we had been shoved in the crappy part on H4 because we had booked through Wotif. Won't do that again.
This hotel has been refurbished on the cheap. What a shame. We have stayed at Sky Grand before and will go there next time.

Fortuna breakfast was fabulous. 200% on last visit.

Two other restaurants in the hotel were also good value and nice food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellin' R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Travellin’ R,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to SKYCITY Hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our king beds and room cleanliness, but I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our Front Office Manager has reviewed parking policies with all staff members to ensure the confusion you experienced on check-in is not repeated.

Furthermore, I am pleased to confirm our management team are in the process of finalising and commencing new carpet installation throughout the hotel. In addition, an HD television system overhaul will soon take place in each of our Hotel rooms, which will combat poor television reception.

Finally, please rest assured, each and every one of our guests are very important to us, regardless of the source of their reservation. It is possible your reservation was made as a run of house booking, where rooms are assigned with respect to hotel room availability.

I welcome you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the points raised in further detail. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in late November and stayed until early December as part of our round the world trip. Room was very large, quiet and clean with all the facilities you would expect, plus many bars and casino. Service was great. Location superb and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Auckland

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B0bandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear B0bandJill,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel. I trust you have returned home safely and have some wonderful memories of your round the world trip.

Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and I am pleased you definitely received that. I am sure fellow travellers will appreciate your recommendation.

My team and I hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel should you return to Auckland, New Zealand in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

An overnight stay before heading North gave us a chance to kick back and relax for the night.
The Hotel is perfectly placed for a whistle stop tour of Auckland, the rooms are very comfortable and of course there is the benefit of the casino for the latter part of the evening (Yes we did come out ahead!)
My only disappointment this trip is that the absolutely fantastic Depot Eatery in Federal Street (right outside the Hotel entrance) was closed for the Xmas Holidays (as were a few others). It's Al Browns Place and is a good enough reason alone to visit! (Come on TA -get it on here)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Norman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled you were able to relax and recharge here at SKYCITY Hotel prior to your travels further north. I do apologise for the fact that Depot was closed during your visit due to the ongoing Federal St construction, however, I am pleased to confirm the Depot, Fed Deli & MASU have since opened their doors for business. We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

A very large "experience" hotel in Auckland, situated in the Sky Tower complex. We were given a very comfortable suite, with large sitting room and bathroom. Clean and quiet, great views, and very handy for the SkyTower (extra charges apply). The local area didn't seem too promising, but we found a decent Italian restaurant just a block away and it's ten minutes' walk to Viaduct Harbour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear UKtraveller2014,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you were impressed with your SKYCITY Hotel suite and location.

Here at SKYCITY, with over 20 restaurants and bars, there is something to tempt every palette and budget without having to leave the complex. Whether you fancy chic and elegant dining or a full buffet, there is a restaurant or bar to suit every occasion at SKYCITY.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing