We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in CBD Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location in CBD Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Skycity was a good value and a great location. The only complaint I have is when we arrived we were asked to put our luggage to the side and after we got our room number we turned around to get our luggage and it was gone. They should ask you if you want your luggage taken to the room. I did not appreciate someone just taking it without asking. Other than that it was a quiet hotel for the large size.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gena50,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor post. Please be assured our Chief Concierge has received your feedback regarding luggage delivery and will be reviewing this process.

The team and I hope you have had a safe return journey to Brisbane.

Many Thanks,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    721
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
277
819
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the first 2 nights upon arrival in Auckland on 9-11 May 2013 & the last 2 nights before departing on 21-23 May 2013. On the first 2 nights, we were given a non smoking room level thus we had to go 1 level down if we want to smoke. When checking out on the 11 May, I requested for a room with balcony when we return on 21-23 May so that it will be more convenient for us & the two children that travelled with us can have some outdoor time. Great! We got the room we requested for! The room was spacious & clean. Location is excellent as it is walking distance to shopping area, train station etc. Just look out for the iconic Sky Tower if you're lost in the city centre coz, it will definitely lead you back to the hotel. You can even shop at the hotel as there's a fair bit of souviniers shop at the basement. You will definitely pass by the souviniers shop if you dine in at the Orbit Revolving Restaurant at Sky Tower!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Titi S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at SKYCITY Hotel. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay.

The team and I hope you have returned safely to Singapore and we hope to welcome you back on your future travels.

Many thanks,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fast check in , spacious clean room, great location close to restaurants, cafes and queen St . got what I paid for.
the luggage boy break my new bag and just put in my room and left without telling me. I phoned the concierge and he said he will check the cctv and get back to me but he didn't. I was disappointed.
I went down at 11 pm and talked Mr tua at the concierge and he came up to my room as soon as told him what happend and fix with a smile what the others did. ThanksrMr tua.
I recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aboodi1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Aboodi1212,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read of the challenges you experienced with the delivery of your bag to your guest room. Unfortunately CCTV was not available in all areas of the hotel and our team where unable to review the total journey your bag took from our lobby to your guest room. I do apologise this was not communicated to you at the time.

Whilst unfortunate I am pleased to read Tua quickly rectified this issue for you. Should you wish to discuss in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me.

The team and I hope you have returned safely to Saudi Arabia.

Kind regards,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a good stay at Skycity during a business conference. Rooms were great, staff very friendly and accommodating. I'm a light sleeper so I struggled with the street noise of a city. Great location close to restaurants and the waterfront. I'm not a gambler so being surrounded by a casino wasn't really my thing. Great hotel though.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Colin J,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am pleased to read you had a comfortable stay. On a future visit should you require recommendations on attractions close to SKYCITY Hotel please do not hesitate to contact a member of our Concierge team who will happily assist.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind regards,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
236 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had another fabulous stay at SkyCity last week. I haven't stayed for ages and got treated to a lovely upgrade to a Suite which was awesome. The bed was so comfortable that I couldn't get out of it and to the gym- not like me so I continued to snuggle for a little longer. Service was really really good and it was very exciting to stumble upon X factor contestants staying there too and enjoying their stay. Location is perfect and we got to have brekkie at Depot directly over the road which was delicious and got to sit behind Peter Gordon which was equally delightful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Nina044,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your wonderful comments which I will happily share with the rest of the team.

We look forward to you welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel on your next visit to Auckland.

Many thanks,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly good hotel with well equipped, modern and clean rooms. Where it does have an advantage is that there is so much happening within the complex from the casino to numerous restaurants. Certainly has to be one of the best choices in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Johnand Wendy,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. On your next visit to SKYCITY Hotel I welcome you to contact a member of our concierge team who will happily recommend dining and entertainment options within SKYCITY which best suit your tastes.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next in Auckland.

Many thanks,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was fantastic - very clean and luxurious! The rain shower was a very welcome touch after travelling around in a campervan for 10 days.

Really convenient having all the restaurants at your fingertips - Rebo is great value and really nice food, the Sky Tower revolving restaurant is very reasonably priced as well, and with a great view you can't beat it for dinner.

Our stay was very smooth, although I had asked the receptionist if some romantic rose petals etc in our room could be arranged as it was my partner's birthday. I was told this was not a problem and that they would arrange something, however I was incredibly disappointed that this was not carried out as promised - it was completely absent - very disappointing.

On the whole, I definitely recommend, however it was upsetting that a promise was not carried out, as this was to be a special aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Michellashlee,

Thank you for your tripadvisor post and recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel. Whilst delighted to read your positive feedback I am disappointed to hear the flower petals were not in your guest room as requested.

Your feedback will be reviewed to determine where the breakdown occurred to ensure your experience is not repeated. I am sorry for the disappointment this caused you during your stay.

Should you wish to discuss your visit in more detail I welcome you to contact me. The team and I hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next in Auckland.

Many thanks,
Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
tracey.walsh@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing