We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
perth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here from 16/01/2013 for 5 nights. When we arr it was my birthday & there was a plate of chocolates & birthday card in the room for me. It's a great location only 5 mins to Queen st which is the main shopping st in the city.Its also only a 15 min walk to the viaduct harbour. We had breakfast in the Fortunata Restaurant which has the normal buffet breakfast which was more than adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishingPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear WishingPerth,

Happy belated birthday. I am delighted to read our team assisted in making your birthday special. SKYCITY is located in the heart of Auckland City and is the perfect base to explore Auckland’s many attractions. Please do not hesitate to contact our Concierge if you would like recommendations on where to spend your time during your stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel on your next visit to Auckland City.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    753
    242
    49
    41
See reviews for
293
843
125
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first trip to NZ and the first place we stayed. At first sight it appears incredibly busy but a lot of the activity relates to the casino part of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and we were taken to our room on the fourth floor. We had a great view of the harbour and the room was spacious, clean and tidy. The harbour is a 10 min walk away and of course the tower itself, with its amazing views, is on the doorstep. We had a good stay and would recommend the hotel. As we didn't use the casino we found it a slight irritation but this did not detract from our visit.

Room Tip: Insist on a high room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear DavidH118WH,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I hope you had an enjoyable first visit to New Zealand.

I was thrilled to read your comments regarding our friendly team. My team and I are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and enjoy and celebrate receiving positive feedback such as your review.

My team and I wish you a safe return to London.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Skycity at Auckland is a landmark. You can not beat this location. The hotel is nice and clean. The amenities are also fine. The best part is that you have skytower just in front of you. There are several eateries and shopping options closeby. Overall, it is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JyothiNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JyothiNaresh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

At 328 metres, the Sky Tower is the tallest man-made structure in New Zealand and is certainly an iconic feature of Auckland’s Skyline.

SKYCITY Hotel is located in the heart of Auckland City and we are fortunate to have a number of Auckland’s main tourist attractions on our doorstep. On your next stay please do not hesitate to contact our concierge team who will happily provide recommendations on must see attractions within Auckland City and SKYCITY.

Have a safe return trip to Bangalore. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next in Auckland City.

Kind regards,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent most of December touring New Zealand, Starting in Aukland & ending in Christchurch. Our first stop was Skycity and we were immediately impressed. From the service at reception, the conciege to the room everything was superb. The foyer was decked out for Christmas and the whole place was spotless. Not that we had long enough to sample them all but the choice of restaurants and bars gives plenty of scope. The location is ideal for the city centre, with even the harbour area within easy walking distance and the Hertz office barely 5 minutes away.
Then there is the Sky Tower its self. Entrance made down an escalator from the foyer and again all attendant staff cheery and helpful. You can choose from just going to the viewing area, have a meal in the revolving restaurant, or take a walk outside at 192 metres above Aukland as we did. The view is amazing, but if like me and you don't particually like heights, slightly terrifying !
If you want to take the tour bus this also stops right outside.
I would most definately recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Framps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Framps,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and to share your photos on TripAdvisor. I hope you and your partner had an enjoyable time in New Zealand and you have returned safely to the United Kingdom.

I am extremely proud of my team and the level of service they provide. I will be delighted to share your review with my team.

Should you return to Auckland City my team and I would be thrilled to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during the Christmas holidays. The hotel staff were helpful, the location is great,Walking distance if you wanna get some shopping done.All tourist tour buses pick up and drop off here which is great.We also tried the restaurant and casino both of which were good.I'm sure it would be more appropriately priced if we hadn't chosen to travel in the most expensive week of the year.Overall I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MissB23,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. My team and I hope you had a safe return journey to California.

SKYCITY Hotel is located in the heart of Auckland City and we are fortunate to have a number of Auckland’s main tourist attractions on our doorstep. On your next stay please do not hesitate to contact our concierge team who will happily provide recommendations on must see attractions within Auckland City and SKYCITY.

My team and I hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel - it was a lot friendlier and more personable than I expected of a large hotel-casino complex. Everyone from the reception staff to the cleaners were really friendly and helpful. Despite the noisy, bustling lobby, the hotel floors were very quiet, so you felt that you could get away from all the action. The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was great - just a few minutes walk from Queen Street and only a tiny bit further to the waterfront. A very nice hotel that I would happily visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Jay_BKK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am extremely proud of my team and the level of service they provide. I will be delighted to share your review with my team.

I wish you a safe journey back to Myanmar.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great place that I totally recommend. We have to contact the hotel just after finishing the reservation because of an error we made and the answered clearly and quickly. Once we got there, the staff was very friendly and helped us arranging the transportation to the airport (we were leaving very early). Check-in and check-out were fast, which is a plus. The hotel works well for couples and families, and pretty sure is also great for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Kront,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor.

I was thrilled to read your comments regarding our friendly and helpful team. My team and I are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and enjoy and celebrate receiving positive feedback such as your review.

My team and I wish you a safe return to Madrid.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing