We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base from which to see the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent base from which to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

This was our first hotel having flown LHR > Sydney > Auckland in just under 30 hours. Although tired, we were pleased to see that the room appeared very spacious, with good quality fixtures and fittings and a King sized bed.

It also offered tea and coffee facilities, a fridge / mini bar, aircon, a hairdryer and a good sized bathroom with a bath and shower.

Although on a lower floor we also had a decent view over the rooftops out towards the harbour bridge.

The hotel boasts a number of restaurants, a rooftop pool and of course, the Sky Tower. Our reservation included free tickets to the tower, but even if it costs you, it really is worth it. (Oh, and pay the little extra to go up to the higher viewing platform).

The staff were efficient and friendly.

The hotel is very centrally based - it was easy to walk to the harbour (for ferries - I can recommend Devenport), Victoria Park Market, the Domain and all of the major shopping areas. It is also on the bus routes - pick up the free Auckland tourist brochure available at the airport.

I know that parking is available at the hotel but they charge.

There are a large number of restaurants in the area - there's even a Denny's one block down for any homesick Americans!

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here and have nothing but postive recollections of the hotel.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    710
    233
    48
    39
See reviews for
269
809
115
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

As previous reviewers have mentioned, The Sky City Hotel is not to be confused with the newer Sky City Grand. The reason i chose the Sky City is that they had a great 'Hot rate' of NZD 145 per night on the hotel's own website and it is one of very few hotels in Auckland with an outdoor pool area /sun deck.
Reception for the hotel is in the lobby area of the whole Sky City Complex and can get rather busy, however once you've checked in and arrived at the 'Hotel' floors there is a far calmer atmosphere and surprisingly and airy and spacious feel to the place. Rooms are fairly standard, but large in size with safe, minibar, plasma tv's etc and although they feel a little dated are more than adequate. As mentioned previously, the 'trump card' for this hotel is the roof-top sundeck. Even it's newer, more expensive sibling The Sky Grand can't provide one of these and in my view it's the key selling point of the hotel. The pool is beautifully heated and long enough to do laps in. There are quite a few sun beds and tables and chairs and also a small bar/cafe. The deck affords pretty good views of Auckland harbour along with the extraordinary sight every now and again of a bungee jumper plunging off the Sky Tower which is right next door!
The whole sun deck area is a lovely place to chill out and relax away from the hubub below and if you've got a long haul flight departing in the evening i highly recommend booking an extra night so you can top up your tan and enjoy a nice relaxing swim before being couped up in a plane for 24 hours!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank alderneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

Massive complex centered around the Skytower. It feels a little like Reno. A place designed to have a lot of money flowing through it, but not quite enough to do everything Vegas style, and lightly fraying around the edges.

Check-in was smooth and although our room was looking a little tired, it was clean and acceptable. This was a good place to stay for a quick night before flying out. You can catch the Airport bus by the entrance and there is food available 24/7. The upkeep on the place is not perfect. We found glass scattered around the entrance and graffiti in some of the elevators (that stuff would be picked up/cleaned instantly in a better hotel/casino) I would not let my kids roam the place as I question everything about a place this size (including security) that can not do simple updates with worn carpet etc...

For now if you are using this hotel as a transit spot and get a good internet rate this is still a deal.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Derrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minoaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

After travelling both the North and South Island and staying in various B&Bs, Hostels and Lodges, we were looking forward to our last night in Auckland at the Sky City for some somewhat more "civilized" accommodations and the conveniences of the restaurants and casino, etc. This one room for one night cost more than two rooms at some of the other places we had stayed (all of which were above satisfactory). We got there a bit late about 7:30 p.m., was checked in by a girl who seemed like she was having a bad day and then assisted by a bell boy who said absolutely nothing on the way up to the room. Once we got there I opened the door and he let me stand there holding it open for him while he got the luggage. i had to ask him if he could place a peice of luggage to hold the door open (which is of course the first thing any experienced bell man would do) which he did with no eye contact and no acknowledgement. After he got the luggage in, he simply walked out, I'm not kidding you. I had to laugh. He certainly wasn't looking for a tip!

The room itself is nothing to write home about, pretty basic hotel room standard for $315.00 NZ. My husband, who joined me a few minutes later, and I then got ready for dinner but didn't get out of the room until a little after 9 pm. We first tried to see about dinner in one of the tower restaurants, which were either closed or booked so we went to visit the concierge for a recommendation. Who do we find minding the concierge desk, None other than our favorite bell boy. I had to laugh again.

We finally ended up having dinner in the lobby cafe. The food was expensive but edible. We did visit the casino which is at least as advertised. The next morning we checked out asking to store some bags for an hour or two while we tried to get some shopping in. This was met with a mute nod by the new bell boy.

The only good thing I can say about the service here is that the doorman helped us put our bags in the cab when we left with a smile.

If you want the convenience of the skycity, save yourself some money and find something close by, this hotel is not worth the rate.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Minoaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

The Skycity was a good hotel in a good location. The room was nice and clean. We had a good experience at check-in, arriving at 7 am from our international flight and they got us into a room right away. The concierge was not always as knowledgeable as perhaps he could have been. I would consider staying there again when returning to Auckland.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank JNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in July 2007 with a Globus Tour group. Our check-in was horrible because no one could find our reservation and once they did, they knew nothing about where or when our tour group was meeting (this was the first day of the tour). We eventually ran into our tour guide in the lobby, who helped us.
Our room was nice, nothing special. We had a view of an office building next door. We went up to the top to look at the roof-top pool and work-out center. It was an average size hotel pool and work-out area.
We thought we might kill some time before dinner in the casino, but we lost $4 in 1 cent slots in about 5 minutes. They are definitely not like the slot machines in the USA, which pay out much more often and keep you going.
Our first night at the hotel we had dinner in the revolving restaurant at the top of the SkyTower. If you like "foo foo" food (fancy gourmet), then this is the place for you. We got to choose an appetizer and then the rest of the food was on the buffet. After dinner we went down a floor or two to the observation deck, where we had a lovely view of the city at night for no extra cost.
We had breakfast both mornings at Fortuna (compliments of our tour). It was the best breakfast buffet we had the entire tour. It was huge with lots of choices.
The other great thing about SkyCity is that when you are out sight seeing in the city, when you are done for the day you just look up at the skyline and look for the SkyTower and walk toward it - no need for a map!

  • Liked — Location - you can always find it because of the tower
  • Disliked — check-in
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

I stayed at this hotel at the start of May 07 with my husband for four nights and we were impressed.
We arrived very early in the morning after a 13hr flight and were thrilled when the staff at the hotel managed to find a room that was ready for us. It was greatly appreciated and it was a good start to our stay. The room was a reasonable size and the cleanliness seemed acceptable. The only thing that I was a little dubious about was the duvet and not entirely convinced it was as clean as it could be. The hotel also had a rooftop pool which was really nice and had excellent views views of the city. The Fortuna restaurant was average. We only went for the buffet breakfast and sometimes it felt a bit crowded in there. There is plenty to do in the complex but the highlight for us was to have dinner in the rotating restaurant at the top of the Skycity tower. The hotel is in a good central location and the tower is a great landmark to stop you from getting lost. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — R
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SJB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing