We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 nights in the sky city!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 nights in the sky city!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My mother and i spent 5 days in the sky city after our 14 day trip around the rest of NZ. After driving for three hours to get to auckland we had to drop our hire car off on the other side of auckland. As my mum wasnt feeling well we asked if there was anyway we could arrange pickup from the hotel. The concierge took 3 or so minutes and came back and said it was all sorted and that the car would be returned to our hire company. This was a great relief for two tired tourists LOL! We were there around 1pm but we could not check in until 3pm. This was a bit annoying but we just had a quick walk around. It is in a good location but at the top of a hill. So walking down is fine but it is the walking back up that can be the problem lol. There is an ipod located at reception that you can use for no charge. If you go there and it says the usage has been used already just ask reception to fix it up. this saves paying for internet if your just wanting to quickly check emails/facebook etc. The room we had was very modern and clean and had access to a big courtyard for smoking. We didnt have a "view" as such but if your a smoker this room would be perfect. The concierge over all made our stay in the hotel the best. If you have any questions etc dont hesitate to ask them as they are more than ready to help you. One down fall though was that it was a bit noisy in the mornings, i dont know if it was the cleaners or just people in general but the banging was a bit annoying lol

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Jamie H,

Thank you for your recent review on SKYCITY Hotel.

I am delighted to read the team, in particular Concierge, was able to look after you and your mother and ensured you had an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    710
    233
    48
    39
See reviews for
269
809
115
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

this is a great hotel, in central city easy walking to anywhere in the CBD. Staff are friendly and helpful, business facilities are all in the one location, conference rooms, theatre, restaurant, breakout rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Mrs. V Auckland,

Thank you for your latest review about SKYCITY Hotel.

We feel very proud to have a wide range of facilities all under the same roof or short walk from our property and I am glad you found all areas to your satisfaction.

SKYCITY team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our second stay at Skycity Hotel. We were given a slightly earlier check-in which was great and appreciated. Our room was very nice, unfortunately the rubbish bag had not been removed from the previous guest, after a phone call, this was done promptly and staff very apologetic. We enquired at Reception re making a reservation for dinner and advised it wouldn't be necessary, however we were turned away from the buffet restaurant, they were full and it would be over an hours wait, so very disappointed at that. We did get a meal at another restaurant in the complex which was firstclass. The only other problem was, we had requested a morning paper on the checkin form but it never arrived. The staff were very friendly for such a large hotel and apart from the above, we will return to Skycity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Robyn B09,

Firstly a warm welcome back to SKYCITY Hotel, I am pleased to read you chose to stay with us again.

Thank you for you review, I was pleased overall you had an enjoyable stay however I was disappointed to read that there were a few areas we did not excel and for this on behalf of our team I would like to apologise.

I would appreciate if you could contact me to let me know your room number and dates of stay so I can follow up personally on the areas you have raised.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and thank you for your loyalty in choosing SKYCITY Hotel.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I had a fantastic stay at the skycity hotel.
The staff were exceptional, Admir was delightful and we felt so spoiled.
Loved the room - gorgeous decor and a really comfy bed!
It's a great location with everything you could need right on the doorstep.
Can recommend the room service breakfast - good value, really tasty and arrived promptly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Jo,

Thank you for you review, it was a pleasure to meet you and to look after you during your stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is expensive but you get a panoramic view of the whole city from the room. This is perhaps the tallest tower hotel in the southern hemisphere and a 2-3 day stay is all you would need to see the whole of Auckland. The city center is just a walk away and this hotel & this address is a must if you visiting Auckland. We stayed here in Oct'2006 and it was still the hottest property in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGonsalves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear DG-KWI,

Welcome back to SKYCITY Hotel, I am pleased you and your family had another enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your latest review and for recommending our property to other travellers.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Always superb. Great place to stay. Admir and front office staff are always a delight to deal with. Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your latest review on our property.

It is always an absolute pleasure to look after you as a regular guest of SKYCITY Hotel.

I look forward to welcome back to SKYCITY soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at Skycity last week and it could not of been a better experiance. Checked in and got an upgrade to a suite, which was amazing! Staff were so friendly and helpful. We had to pay for parking as the hotel was in the city center, ate at the observatory buffet it was amazing staff were so freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear 'Melissa R'

Thank you for taking your time to review our property.

I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable experience and thank you for commending our staff in their friendliness and helpfulness.

We look forward to welcome you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon and continue exceeding your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing