We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great room!”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I did not stay in the room long to appreciate the tv/minibar etc but did find the room extremely comfortable and clean. The staff on reception were excellent both on check in and out. Absolutely nothing negative to say about my stay. Keep up the good work and I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toniette27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your postive feedback, we value your time to review our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel Auckland and hopefully you can stay longer to enjoy the comfort of our rooms.

See you soon!

Best Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

I would expect the staff to be more polite when approached for assistance. The conceige "asian" has no eye contact when a question was posted to him. Also, the indian receptionist was not friendly at all. 3 / 10.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Dear Nomad1965,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we value your time to review our Hotel.

I was disappointed that you did not receive an enjoyable experience from our Concierge team. We always strive to provide great service and I do apologise we did not live up to it on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back and trust you will have a more positive experience on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our experience at the hotel was nice (a bit clinical -- hardly any personal touch, but it was fine with us). We were allowed to check-in early (around 11am) and all the paperwork was ready when we went up to the counter. The room and bathroom were clean, sufficient coffee/tea in the room, well stocked minibar (we didn't use anything, so we didn't check any prices). Bed was fairly comfortable, linen/towels were clean. The hotel was going through some construction ahead of the Rugby world cup and I was informed about possible noise issues both at the time of my reservation and at check-in, so while that was a wee bit annoying (we had a room that was away from most of the noise, but we still could hear some of it) I took the hotel room fully knowing what to expect. The only real negative that we had was either they don't have any porters/bellboys or ones that don't really care, both of which are bad for a four star hotel where the distance to rooms is quite a bit, and for the love of god we couldn't find any luggage trolleys either. That was a bit troublesome at check-in and check-out (especially check-in since we arrived after over 20hrs of flying/airport time in to Auckland). The breakfast was really good (we had the room service breakfast package), but what you get for two people is likely sufficient for a village! Internet for 30 min is available free from the lobby, but the in-room internet rates are quite expensive even by CBD standards. The SPA/pool was closed for renovations but we could have used the ones at the SKYCity Grand across the bridge - we did not.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpacemanSpiffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we value your time to review our Hotel.

I was pleased to read our team advised you about our new development currently in progress, which will finish in time for 2011 Rugby World Cup, however I was disappointed that you did not receive an enjoyable experience from our Concierge team. We always strive to provide great service and I do apologise we did not live up to it on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel Auckland soon.

Best Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Would recommend this hotel to any type of traveller. Location is great and room nice and clean and with everything one would desire.

Room Tip: Harbour view but doesn't really matter
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank oldhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We really value your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at SKYCITY Hotel Auckland soon.

Kind Regards,
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The hotel was in good location. It's actually quiet in the room considering there's casino and restaurants in the same building. The food was good but it can improve on presentation. The room was clean and roomy. Staff service was excellent especially concierge and reception! Overall a great stay and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prescymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really value your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at SKYCITY Hotel Auckland soon.

Kind Regards,
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel wants to be more than it is. The rooms are nice and clean. The bathroom is OK but has cheap utilities and equipment.
The price for the hotel is first class but neither the staff or the room live up to it.
The location is good as all the downtown attractions are within walking distance.

You will not go wrong with staying here but you will pay a lot more than you should.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really value your feedback and points raised. We always strive to provide great service and great value, my sincere apologies we did not live up to it on this occasion.

For our best available rates please visit our website, including special deals.

I look forward to welcoming you back and trust you will have a more positive experience on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, great service and located in central area. a bit expensive, however as it is in the central area, we didn't have to spend much on transport, so it's not bad at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really value your feedback and look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $154 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing