We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute, unmitigated disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolute, unmitigated disaster”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here as part of a conference. Several fellow attendees had the following experiences: bad smell coming from the plumbing; arrived to find room uncleaned, complained to front desk, came back two hours later, room still not ready; electrical socket hanging off the wall. My first room was highly unpleasant; when I changed rooms, I was put in one that was missing several items. I finally had to resort to tracking down the conference organizer to submit a complaint as the front desk was completely unresponsive and unhelpful. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here; go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageur613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves in offering high level of service. We are disappointed that your experience was not a pleasant one. Any feedback we receive helps us to be better.
As posted, you stayed with us in Dec'2012. It is almost an year after that now, and it becomes a little difficult for me to follow up on this with the staff. Had we been advised of this on time, we would have investigated and addressed. Such feedbacks are of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our service standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. But thank you for letting us know as it keeps us alert towards maintaining our standards.
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    460
    243
    142
    87
See reviews for
148
522
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night last week. This is a modern hotel. My room was on Level 19. The room was not large, but it was very sunny and had everything I needed. The bathroom was adequate. No bath, however the shower was large enough, the water pressure was better than some hotels I've been in. Large fluffy towels, hair dryer, hand soap, shower gel and body moisturizer supplied. The bed was large and comfy with adequate pillows. There was a small balcony off my room with nice city and water views. I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and found that rooms on the lower levels look straight into another apartment. So if you are staying here and want a room with a view then advise them of this and request a room on a higher level. I also liked that entry to the various floors required a room card. There is a restaurant and also a small bar. It is a handy location to the universities ( walking distance). It's next door to the Hyatt Regency Hotel. There are plenty of taxis available from the Hyatt although the team at reception are very helpful and always called me a taxi. It's also located by the high courts. For people who enjoy walking I think this is a handy location down to the waterfront. I enjoy staying here because it is clean, safe and comfortable and the staff at reception always friendly. I also liked that they delivered me a morning newspaper without having to request one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top with a view. Otherwise you could end up with a room that looks across to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 156AnneF156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the great feedback..We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. It is wonderful that you embraced and enjoyed what we offer here at The Quadrant. Your feedback is a great driver in ensuring that we work hard to maintain the high standards we have. Thanks for your encouragement and support.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights recently and overall it was a good experience.

The rooms are small but well equipped. The kitchenette was very functional and the room was light and bright. I had a nice outlook down to the harbour.

The location is terrific, close to the city and walking distance to most transport links and Business district.

Instructions for the washing machine we're missing from the info folder and it was not intuitive.

Room service was nothing special, but served the purpose. There are so many good restaurants near by I wouldn't bother with it again

House keeping was fine, but it was irritating to return from a day out at 4:30pm to find the room hadn't been serviced

Overall, a bargain for what I paid, I would stay again very happily

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad to hear that you had a good experience, staying with us. There are many things that made up for your good stay and we are happy that you enjoyed what we offer. There is a mention of some service delays. I apologise for that. I will follow it up and make sure it is not repeated again. Also the washing machine instructions are now in place. Thanks for letting us know.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually want to be too negative in my reviews and pick out at least a few positives... Unfortunately I'm really struggling with this one!

Negatives 1- Upon arrival to the room a very strange and strong egg like smell hit me, so much so i went straight to the ranch slider to get some very needed fresh air in the room. I'm not sure where or what the smell is but each time we go away and come back to the room it still there and 'hits' you again

2- There is stains on the couch, looks like food maybe, not sitting there.

3- No tv in the bedroom. So our room is a kind of one bedroom setup it had the bedroom off the living, kitchen, bathroom area. The bedroom is split from the rest by a wardrobe and a sliding door. The tv is not viewable from the bedroom, when on holiday I looooove watching the tv from bed unfortunately cant do that here

4- 1 last moan - there were no face cloths/ flannels I did ring reception and asked for some which were brought up fairly quickly.

Onto some positives

1- the hotel is central and close to queen st.

2- large room service menu

3- comfortable bed

4- iPhone docking alarm clock.

I guess for me unfortunately with the amount of hotels on offer in Auckland I wouldn't come back here I would take my chances with another place

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feed back. We are disappointed that your experience with us was not as good. We apologise for that.
There are a few issues raised. Regarding the strange smell in the room, had we been informed, we would have definitely organised a room move for you.
We are sorry you could not enjoy the T.V. from your bed, as the layout of the room you booked has the T.V. in the lounge but we do have a lot of rooms with the T.V. in the bedrooms as well.
The stains on the couch are a concern with me and I have followed this up with the executive housekeeper.
We are glad that there are a few things you liked, like our location, beds and some other things. Thanks for that.
Take care and we hope you do give us another chance to show our hospitality.
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

BEWARE! The building that this hotel is situated in also has resident apartments. Many of the occupants like to party on their balconies all night or blast their music with the doors wide opena. Additionally the front desk is powerless to do anything about them and advise to contact the resident manager on Monday. Watch out for rooms near 903 and 1102.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room near 903.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I needed somewhere to lay my head for a quick turnaround before leaving Auckland to head north. I wanted value and was looking at other cheaper options but the feedback was noisy/loud/dated. I got a great deal to stay at the quadrant for around $100NZD. The room was small but impeccable, modern, comfortable and quite. Too small for a long term stay, but a night or two is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Jane,

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! It is good that you enjoyed what we offer.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel, but breakfast needs some attention, I prefer English Breakfast tea, the waitress didn't either what it was or didn't have it, the 2 slice home toaster needs replacing with a commercial one, the place get full of smoke and the wait to use it is too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Michael,
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying at The Quadrant Hotel and thanks for finding us to be an excellent hotel. I apologise for the poor service you received at the restaurant during breakfast. This is certainly not Quadrant standard. I will follow it up with the F&B manager. Thanks for letting us know. Any feedback we receive helps us to be better.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Minna Dubey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing